Exam Cheat Sheet · Quick Reference

Alabama Electrical Journeyman Exam

Alabama  ·  Prov

Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
80
Passing score
75%
Exam time
240 min
Administered by
Prov
Format
Reference materials allowed

Alabama State Portion 80 questions

Conductors and Cables 10 Q · 12%
Conductor insulation types, temperature ratings, and type designations (e.g., THHN, XHHW, RHW, TW)Ampacity tables and correction/adjustment factors for conductors rated 0–2000 voltsConductor material, size, and stranding requirements (copper, aluminum, copper-clad aluminum; AWG and kcmil)Grounded conductor identification methods and color codingUses permitted and uses not permitted for specific cable types (NM, NMC, MC, AC, MI, SE, USE, UF, TC, ITC, FC, FCC, IGS, Type P)Securing, supporting, and bending radius requirements for cable assembliesFlexible cords and fixture wires — types, ampacities, permitted uses, and marking requirementsConductor marking requirements and conductor properties (Chapter 9 Table 8)
Electrical Power 2 Q · 2%
Transformer installation requirements and NEC Article 450 complianceTransformer overcurrent protection (primary and secondary, 1000 V and below)Transformer types, cooling methods, and insulation classesEmergency system power sources and automatic transfer equipment (NEC Article 700)Generator installation, marking, overcurrent protection, and disconnecting means (NEC Article 445)Legally required standby systems and critical operations power systems (NEC Articles 701 and 708)Energy storage systems and stationary standby batteries (NEC Articles 706 and 480)Interconnected electric power production sources and parallel operation requirements (NEC Article 705)
Fire Detection and Alarm Systems 2 Q · 2%
Power-limited fire alarm (PLFA) circuit wiring methods and cable types (FPL, FPLR, FPLP)Non-power-limited fire alarm (NPLFA) circuit power source and overcurrent protection requirementsBranch circuit requirements and disconnecting means identification for fire alarm systemsSeparation of PLFA conductors from power, Class 1, and NPLFA circuit conductorsFire alarm cable applications in plenums, risers, and general building locationsCircuit integrity (CI) cable and fire-resistive cable system installation requirementsAbandoned fire alarm cable removal and circuit identification requirementsNPLFA and PLFA conductor materials, sizes, and insulation requirements
General Electrical Knowledge 10 Q · 12%
Ohm's Law and basic DC circuit calculations (voltage, current, resistance, power)Series, parallel, and combination circuit types and current/voltage distributionAC fundamentals: sine waves, frequency, electrical degrees, and phase relationshipsElectrical units and definitions (ampere, volt, ohm, watt, impedance, capacitance, inductance)NEC definitions and terminology for wiring systems (branch circuit, feeder, service, bonding, grounding)General installation requirements of NEC Article 110 (approval, listing, examination, terminations, deteriorating agents)Voltage drop and single-phase / three-phase power calculations
Grounding and Bonding 8 Q · 10%
Grounding electrode system types and selection (NEC 250.52)Grounding electrode conductor sizing using Table 250.66Equipment grounding conductor types, sizing, and identification (NEC 250.118–250.122)Main bonding jumper and system bonding jumper requirementsBonding of services, piping systems, and structural metal (NEC 250.92–250.104)Grounding of separately derived systems and generatorsEffective ground-fault current path requirements for grounded and ungrounded systemsGrounding electrode installation methods and connection requirements (NEC 250.53–250.70)
Illuminated Signs 2 Q · 2%
Branch circuit requirements for signs (rating, dedicated circuit, and wiring methods)Disconnecting means location and lockout requirementsGrounding and bonding of sign equipment and metal partsListing, labeling, and marking requirements for signs and retrofit kitsTransformers and electronic power supplies (ratings, secondary voltage, ground-fault protection)Neon secondary-circuit wiring (≤1000V and >1000V methods, conductor types, spacing)Location restrictions (height above vehicles, combustible materials, wet location drain requirements)Portable and mobile sign requirements (cord types, GFCI, support)
Lighting 3 Q · 4%
Luminaire installation requirements by location (wet, damp, corrosive, closets, bathtub/shower zones)Luminaire support methods and outlet box requirementsLuminaire grounding and wiring requirementsRecessed luminaire requirements (thermal protection, clearances, insulation contact, IC vs non-IC)Lighting track installation and restrictionsBallasts and auxiliary equipment for fluorescent and HID luminaires (thermal protection, disconnecting means)Low-voltage lighting systems (voltage limitations, secondary circuit isolation, branch circuit requirements)Lamp and light source types (incandescent, fluorescent, HID, LED) and their operating characteristics
Low Voltage 2 Q · 2%
Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3 circuit classifications and power source limitationsSeparation requirements between low-voltage and power/light circuitsCable types and substitution hierarchy for power-limited circuits (CL2, CL3, CMP, CMR, PLTC, etc.)Installation of communications cables by building location (plenum, riser, general-purpose, dwelling)Grounding and bonding of communications systems, cable shields, and primary protectorsAntenna system installation, clearances, and grounding requirementsNetwork-powered and premises-powered broadband communications systems (Articles 830 and 840)Class 4 fault-managed power systems and energy management system controls
Motors 6 Q · 8%
Motor branch-circuit conductor sizing and ampacity requirementsMotor overload protection selection and settingsBranch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device ratingsMotor controller types, ratings, and enclosure classificationsDisconnecting means requirements for motors and controllersAC motor types and operating characteristics (squirrel-cage, wound-rotor, synchronous)DC motor types, speed control methods, and starting requirementsHermetic refrigerant motor-compressor circuit requirements
Overcurrent Protection 5 Q · 6%
Types and classifications of fuses (plug, cartridge, Class H/J/K/L/R/T)Circuit breaker types and operating principles (thermal, magnetic, thermal-magnetic, electronic)Standard ampere ratings for fuses and circuit breakers (NEC Table 240.6(A))Overcurrent device location requirements and tap conductor rules (NEC 240.21)Ground-fault protection of equipment (GFPE) for services and feeders (230.95, 240.13)Arc energy reduction (NEC 240.87) and current-limiting overcurrent devicesInterrupting ratings and short-circuit current calculationsOvercurrent device installation requirements (accessibility, enclosures, prohibited locations)
Raceways and Boxes 10 Q · 12%
Conduit fill calculations and conductor count limits (NEC Chapter 9 Tables)Raceway and conduit selection by wiring method type (RMC, IMC, EMT, FMC, LFMC, PVC, ENT, RTRC, LFNC)Securing and supporting requirements for conduits, tubing, and racewaysBox fill calculations and volume allowances (Article 314)Pull box and junction box sizing for conductors 4 AWG and largerUnderground installation requirements and minimum cover depths for racewaysWireway and auxiliary gutter conductor fill, splices, and ampacity rulesCable tray installation, fill requirements, and permitted wiring methods
Safety Information 5 Q · 6%
Electrical Safety Program (ESP) components and requirementsLockout/tagout (LOTO) procedures and electrically safe work conditions (ESWC)Arc flash risk assessment and PPE selection methodsShock risk assessment and approach boundaries (limited and restricted)Personal protective equipment (PPE) selection, use, and inspectionQualified vs. unqualified person requirements and safety trainingArc flash hazard warning labels and equipment markings (NEC 110.16)Working space and guarding requirements for electrical equipment (NEC 110.26, 110.27)
Service, Feeders, and Branch Circuits 9 Q · 11%
Branch-circuit ratings, conductor sizing, and overcurrent protection requirementsGFCI and AFCI protection requirements by location and occupancy typeDwelling unit receptacle outlet placement and required branch circuitsService entrance conductor sizing, wiring methods, and clearancesService disconnecting means requirements, ratings, and locationFeeder conductor sizing, overcurrent protection, and identificationPanelboard, switchboard, and switchgear installation and overcurrent protectionSurge-protective device (SPD) types, installation, and connection requirements
Special Occupancies and Equipment 6 Q · 8%
Hazardous location classification (Classes I, II, and III; Divisions 1 and 2)Wiring methods and sealing requirements for hazardous locationsHealth care facility essential electrical systems (Type 1 and Type 2 EES)Patient care space grounding, bonding, and receptacle requirementsSwimming pools, spas, and fountains — GFCI protection, bonding, and underwater luminairesSolar PV systems — circuit sizing, overcurrent protection, rapid shutdown, and arc-fault protectionElectric vehicle power transfer system (EVSE) installation and overcurrent protectionFire pump power sources, disconnecting means, and continuity of power requirements

Key Distinctions

Straight pull box sizing (314.28(A)(1))vsAngle or U pull box sizing (314.28(A)(2))

For conductors 4 AWG or larger, a straight pull requires box length not less than 8 times the trade size of the largest raceway, while an angle or U pull requires the distance from each raceway entry to the opposite wall to be not less than 6 times the trade size of the largest raceway in a row (increased by the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in that row).

NEC 2023 Section 314.28(A)(1)
Direct-buried cables/conductors, locations not specifiedvsRigid metal conduit or IMC, locations not specified

Per Table 300.5(A), direct burial cables require a minimum cover of 600 mm (24 in.) in all locations not specified, while RMC or IMC requires only 150 mm (6 in.) in those same unspecified locations.

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
RMC in 'all locations not specified'vsRMC under a one- and two-family dwelling driveway

The 150 mm (6 in.) RMC cover applies only to locations not specified in Table 300.5, whereas a dwelling driveway is a specified location requiring 450 mm (18 in.) of cover (general streets, roads, alleys and parking lots require 600 mm/24 in. for all wiring methods).

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Box-fill volume allowance, 14 AWGvsBox-fill volume allowance, 12 AWG

Each 14 AWG conductor is allowed 32.8 cm³ (2.00 in.³), while each 12 AWG conductor is allowed 36.9 cm³ (2.25 in.³).

NEC 2023 Table 314.16(B)(1)
Ampacity adjustment for 7–9 current-carrying conductorsvsAmpacity adjustment for 10–20 current-carrying conductors

Table 310.15(C)(1) requires 70 percent of table ampacity for 7–9 current-carrying conductors but 50 percent for 10–20 (4–6 conductors get 80 percent).

NEC 2023 Table 310.15(C)(1)
Overload units, single-phase motor on 2-wire ungrounded circuitvsOverload units, 3-phase motor

Per Table 430.37, a single-phase AC or DC motor on a 2-wire ungrounded supply needs only one overload unit in either conductor, while a 3-phase motor requires three overload units, one in each phase.

NEC 2023 Table 430.37
General-use switch used as motor disconnect (stationary motor 2 hp or less, not over 300 V)vsMotor-circuit switch continuous rating

A general-use switch serving as the disconnect must be rated at least 200 percent of the motor full-load current, whereas 115 percent is the continuous rating required of a horsepower-rated motor-circuit switch (125 percent applies to branch-circuit conductor sizing/overload selection).

American Electricians' Handbook, 17th ed., Sec. 383 (Motor switches), item 2
Motor branch-circuit inverse time breaker at Table 430.52(C)(1) maximumvsIncreased setting under 430.52(C)(1) Exception No. 2

The table permits an inverse time breaker up to 250 percent of motor full-load current; if the motor will not start, the rating may be increased but shall in no case exceed 400 percent of FLC for motors of 100 A or less (300 percent above 100 A), and it is not simply moved to the next standard size.

NEC Section 430.52(C)(1), Exception No. 2; Table 430.52(C)(1)
Hermetic compressor branch-circuit protection, normal limit (440.22(A))vsHermetic compressor branch-circuit protection, Exception No. 2

The device is normally limited to 175 percent of rated-load current, but where that will not carry starting current it may be increased to a not-to-exceed ceiling of 225 percent of rated-load current (or branch-circuit selection current, whichever is greater), with no round-up — the next LOWER standard size must be chosen.

NEC 2023 Section 440.22(A) Exception No. 2; American Electricians' Handbook, 17th Edition, Sec. 401
Tagout without a lock under NFPA 70EvsTagout without a lock under OSHA 29 CFR 1910.147

NFPA 70E prohibits tagout alone unless the isolating device is incapable of accepting a lock, while OSHA permits tagout where the employer demonstrates an equivalent level of safety.

American Electricians' Handbook, 17th ed., Division 13 (Electrical Safety), Sec. 49 — Application of Lockout or Tagout
Elevator raceway conductor fill (620.33)vsGeneral wiring raceway fill (Chapter 9, Table 1)

In elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional area of the individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway interior area, a special provision differing from the standard Chapter 9, Table 1 fill percentages.

NEC 2023 Section 620.33
Retail general lighting unit load, NEC 2023/2026vsRetail store unit load, NEC 2017

Current tables (Table 220.42(A) in 2023, Table 120.42(A) in 2026) use 1.9 VA per square foot for a retail occupancy, whereas 3 VA per square foot was the NEC 2017 unit load for stores.

NEC 2023 Table 220.42(A) and 220.14(I)
Receptacle outlet load, commercial (220.14(I))vs1,500 VA per circuit figure

Each single or multiple receptacle on one yoke counts as at least 180 VA in a store calculation, while the 1,500 VA per circuit value applies to dwelling small-appliance (and laundry) circuits, not store receptacles.

NEC 2023 Table 220.42(A) and 220.14(I)

Key Terms

Tap (tap circuit) American Electricians' Handbook, 17th ed., Division 3, Sec. 16 (A tap or tap circuit)
A set of conductors serving a single energy-utilizing device connected directly to a branch circuit without the interposition of a cutout (overcurrent device), as distinguished from a submain (subsidiary main fed through a cutout), a subfeeder (extension of a feeder between distributing centers) and a distribution center.
Minimum feeder ampacity for continuous loads (215.2(A)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 215.2(A)(1)
Where a feeder supplies continuous loads or a combination of continuous and noncontinuous loads, conductors shall have an ampacity not less than the noncontinuous load plus 125 percent of the continuous load.
Service-entrance conductor sizing for continuous loads (230.42(A)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 230.42(A)(1)
Service-entrance conductors supplying continuous loads, or any combination of continuous and noncontinuous loads, shall have an ampacity not less than the noncontinuous loads plus 125 percent of the continuous loads.
One-family dwelling service disconnect rating (230.79(C)) NEC 2023 Section 230.79(C)
The service disconnecting means for a one-family dwelling shall have a rating of not less than 100 amperes, 3-wire.
Optional dwelling-unit calculation threshold (220.82(A)) NEC 2023 Section 220.82(A)
The optional calculation applies to a dwelling unit whose total connected load is served by a single 120/240-volt or 208Y/120-volt set of 3-wire service or feeder conductors with an ampacity of 100 or greater.
Free conductor length at boxes (300.14) NEC 2023 Section 300.14
At least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from where it emerges from the raceway or cable sheath, shall be left at each outlet, junction and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Bored-hole clearance in wood members (300.4(A)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(1)
Holes shall be bored so the edge of the hole is not less than 32 mm (1 1/4 in.) from the edge of the wood member; where that distance cannot be maintained, a steel plate must protect the cable or raceway from screws and nails.
Steel plate protection at notches (300.4(A)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(2)
Cables or raceways laid in notches in wood members shall be protected from nail or screw penetration by a steel plate at least 1.6 mm (1/16 in.) thick of appropriate length and width covering the wiring area.
Stranding requirement in raceways (310.3(C)) NEC 2023 Section 310.3(C)
Conductors 8 AWG and larger installed in raceways shall be stranded, unless specifically permitted or required elsewhere in the Code to be solid.
Table 310.16 base ambient temperature NEC 2023 Section 310.16
The ampacities of Table 310.16 are based on a 30°C (86°F) ambient; other ambients require correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1).
Device/yoke box-fill allowance (314.16(B)(4)) NEC 2023 Section 314.16(B)(4)
Each yoke or strap containing one or more devices or equipment requires a double volume allowance per Table 314.16(B)(1), based on the largest conductor connected to a device supported by that yoke or strap.
Raceway-supported enclosure limit (314.23(E)) NEC 2023 Section 314.23(E)
An enclosure supported by entering raceways that contains no devices other than splicing devices and supports no luminaire, lampholder or other equipment shall not exceed 1650 cm³ (100 in.³) in size.
Bend limit between pull points (358.24(B); 2020/2017: 358.26) NEC 2023 Section 358.24(B)
EMT runs are limited to 360 degrees of bends between pull points, and because a conduit body is a pull point, each section between pull points may have up to 360 degrees of bends.
Feeder tap not over 10 ft (240.21(B)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 240.21(B)(1)
For taps not over 10 ft long whose conductors leave the enclosure or vault in which the tap is made, tap conductor ampacity must be not less than one-tenth of the feeder overcurrent device rating, and the conductors must also meet the other 240.21(B)(1) requirements including not being less than the combined calculated loads.
Part-winding motor conductors (430.22(D)) NEC 2023 Section 430.22(D)
Conductors between the controller and a part-winding connected motor shall have an ampacity not less than 62.5 percent of the motor full-load current rating (50% × 1.25).
Main/system bonding jumper screw identification (250.28(B)) NEC 2023 Section 250.28(B)
Where the main bonding jumper or system bonding jumper is a screw only, the screw shall be identified with a green finish that is visible with the screw installed.
Supplemental grounding electrode spacing (250.53(A)(3)) NEC 2023 Section 250.53(A)(3)
Where multiple rod, pipe, or plate electrodes are installed to meet the requirements of this section, they shall be not less than 1.8 m (6 ft) apart.
PV array boundary for rapid shutdown (690.12(B)) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
The array boundary is defined as 305 mm (1 ft) from the array in all directions; controlled conductors located outside this boundary and more than 1 m (3 ft) from the array, or inside a building, shall be limited to not more than 30 volts within 30 seconds of rapid shutdown initiation.
Track lighting load, other than dwellings/guest rooms (220.46(B)) NEC 2023 Section 220.46(B)
An additional load of 150 volt-amperes shall be included for every 600 mm (2 ft) of lighting track or fraction thereof, with an exception permitting calculation based on the rating of a current-limiting device if one is used.

Formulas to Know

Minimum feeder or service-entrance conductor ampacity with continuous loadsMin ampacity = noncontinuous load + (1.25 × continuous load); examples: 80 A + (60 × 1.25) = 155 A; 30 A + (100 × 1.25) = 155 A; 40 A + (60 × 1.25) = 115 A (device/assembly not listed for 100% rating)
Minimum branch-circuit overcurrent device rating for continuous load (210.20(A))OCPD rating ≥ 1.25 × continuous load; example: 16 A × 1.25 = 20 A minimum
Minimum straight-pull box length (314.28(A)(1), conductors 4 AWG and larger)Length ≥ 8 × trade size of largest raceway; example: 8 × 3 in. = 24 in. (610 mm)
Minimum angle/U pull dimension (314.28(A)(2))Distance from raceway entry to opposite wall ≥ (6 × trade size of largest raceway) + sum of diameters of all other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall; example: (6 × 3) + 2 = 20 in.
Single-phase voltage dropVD = (2 × K × I × L) / CM, the 2 accounting for both out-and-back conductors; example: (2 × 12.9 × 16 A × 60 ft) / 6,530 cmil = 3.79 V ≈ 3.2% of 120 V
Effective impedance at a power factor other than the tabulated one (Chapter 9, Table 9, Note 2)Effective Z = R cos θ + X sin θ; for another circuit power factor, Ze = R × PF + XL sin[arccos(PF)]
Ohm's lawE = I × R and I = E / R; examples: 8 A × 15 Ω = 120 V; 240 V / 48 Ω = 5 A
Single-phase powerP = E × I; example: 120 V × 12.5 A = 1,500 W
Three-phase power and inductive reactanceP = √3 × V × I × cos θ (V = line voltage, cos θ = power factor); inductive reactance XL = 2πfL (NOT 2πfC)
Maximum motor feeder overcurrent device rating (430.62(A) with 240.6(A))Max = largest motor branch-circuit short-circuit/ground-fault device rating + sum of full-load currents of the other motors; example: 90 A + (14 + 10) = 114 A, and because this is a 'not greater than' maximum and 114 A is not standard, select the next LOWER standard size, 110 A