Exam Cheat Sheet · Quick Reference

Kentucky Master Electrician Exam (ICC 701, 2023 NEC)

Kentucky  ·  Pearson Vue

Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
100
Passing score
70%
Exam time
300 min
Administered by
Pearson Vue
Format
Reference materials allowed

Kentucky State Portion 100 questions

General Knowledge and Plan Reading 12 Q · 12%
Electrical Theory and General Electrical Load CalculationsCode Definitions and TermsPlan ReadingAC circuit concepts: impedance, reactance, inductance, and capacitance calculationsPower factor, apparent power (kVA), and power factor correctionKirchhoff's Current and Voltage LawsCommon electrical distribution systems and conductor color codingNEC scope, arrangement, and enforcement (Article 90)Electrical symbols and wiring diagram interpretationUnits of measurement, metric system, and engineering conversionsApplied math for electricians: fractions, equations, trigonometry, and geometric formulas
Services and Service Equipment 16 Q · 16%
Services and Fault CurrentService Load CalculationsService Equipment & Service ConductorsTransformersSystem Grounding and BondingTemporary Service WiringOverhead and underground service conductor requirements and clearancesService disconnecting means requirements and ratingsGround-fault protection of equipment at servicesSurge-protective devices (SPDs) at service equipmentGrounding electrode types, installation, and system requirementsEquipment grounding conductor types, sizing, and identification +2 more
Feeders 4 Q · 4%
Load CalculationsEquipment GroundingMinimum feeder conductor ampacity and sizing (Article 215.2)Feeder overcurrent protection requirements (Article 215.3)Ground-fault protection of equipment for feeders (Article 215.10)Feeder conductor identification — grounded, ungrounded, and EGC (Article 215.12)Surge-protective device requirements for feeders (Articles 215.18 and 225.42)Outside feeder disconnecting means — location, rating, and number (Article 225.31–225.39)Feeder neutral load calculations and permitted reductions (Article 220.61)Common neutral conductors and feeders with shared neutral (Article 215.4)
Branch Circuits and Conductors 16 Q · 16%
Branch Circuit CalculationOvercurrent ProtectionConductorsRequired Outlets & GFCI/AFCI ProtectionEquipment GroundingVoltage Drop Calculations (Single-Phase and Three-Phase)Ampacity Correction and Adjustment Factors (Temperature and Conductor Count)Conductor Insulation Types, Temperature Ratings, and Permitted UsesMultiwire Branch Circuit RequirementsBranch Circuit Voltage Limitations and Permissible LoadsGrounded Conductor Identification and UseGrounding Electrode System and Electrode Types +1 more
Wiring Methods and Materials 19 Q · 19%
Raceway InstallationsUnderground Wiring MethodsBoxes and EnclosuresCabinets, Panelboards, & SwitchboardsClearance and GuardingFlexible Cords and CablesCable Wiring Methods (NM, MC, AC, MI, SE, UF, TC, ITC, FC, FCC, IGS, Type P)Conductor Fill and Conduit Sizing CalculationsConduit Bending Techniques and CalculationsProtection of Cables and Raceways Against Physical DamageGeneral Wiring Requirements for Conductors of the Same Circuit and Different SystemsCable Tray Systems +2 more
Equipment and Devices 10 Q · 10%
LuminairesReceptacles, Switches and Other DevicesAppliances and Other EquipmentOther Utilization EquipmentHeating and Cooling EquipmentFixture Wire Types, Ampacities, and Minimum Size RequirementsLuminaire Installation in Specific Locations (wet, damp, closets, bathtub/shower zones)Recessed Luminaire Clearances, Thermal Protection, and Type IC RequirementsLighting Track Installation Requirements and RestrictionsLow-Voltage Lighting System Voltage Limitations and Secondary Circuit RequirementsNEMA Receptacle Configurations and Wiring DiagramsDisconnecting Means for Fixed Electric Space-Heating and Industrial Process Heating Equipment +1 more
Control Devices 3 Q · 3%
Switches, Disconnects and ControllersMotor Controller Ratings and MarkingsMotor Control Circuit Overcurrent Protection and WiringMotor Disconnecting Means RequirementsMotor Overload Protection Devices and SettingsMotor Control Centers Installation and Overcurrent ProtectionStop-Start and Jogging Control Circuit ConfigurationsIndustrial Control Panel Requirements and MarkingsClass 1, Class 2, and Class 4 Power-Limited Remote-Control Circuits
Motors and Generators 8 Q · 8%
MotorsGeneratorsMotor branch-circuit conductor sizing and ampacityMotor overload protection requirements and ratingsMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device ratingsMotor disconnecting means requirements and ratingsMotor controllers: ratings, types, and marking requirementsMotor control circuits and motor control centersGenerator installation, marking, overcurrent protection, and disconnecting meansPhase converters and capacitors in motor circuits
Special Occupancies, Equipment, and Conditions 12 Q · 12%
Special OccupanciesSwimming Pools and Similar InstallationsMobile Home and RV ParksData Processing EquipmentMiscellaneous Special EquipmentEmergency SystemsSignaling and Fire Alarm SystemsHazardous Location Classification (Classes, Divisions, and Zones)Wiring Methods and Equipment for Hazardous LocationsIntrinsically Safe Systems and Associated ApparatusHealth Care Facility Wiring, Grounding, and Essential Electrical SystemsSolar PV, Wind, Fuel Cell, and Energy Storage Systems +3 more

Key Distinctions

Mandatory NEC rulevsPermissive NEC rule

Per NEC 90.5(A) mandatory rules use 'shall' or 'shall not', while per 90.5(B) permissive rules use 'shall be permitted' or 'shall not be required'.

NEC 2023 Section 90.5(A) and 90.5(B)
Series circuit currentvsParallel circuit current

In a series circuit the total current equals the current in any other part of the circuit (IT = I1 = I2 = I3), whereas in a parallel circuit the total current equals the sum of the branch currents.

Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Series Circuits, Page 3 (2020 ed.: Series Circuits)
Elevator raceway conductor fill (620.33)vsGeneral wiring raceway fill (Chapter 9, Table 1)

For elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional area of the individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway's interior cross-sectional area, a special provision that differs from the standard Chapter 9, Table 1 fill percentages used in general wiring.

NEC 2023 Section 620.33
Standard ampere ratings for fusesvsStandard ampere ratings for inverse time circuit breakers

Per 240.6(A) the Table 240.6(A) ratings apply to both, but 1, 3, 6, and 601 amperes are additional standard ratings for fuses only (e.g., 601 is a fuse-only rating).

NEC 2023 Section 240.6(A) and Table 240.6(A)
Direct-buried cables/conductors, locations not specified in Table 300.5(A)vsRigid metal conduit or intermediate metal conduit, locations not specified in Table 300.5(A)

In all locations not specified elsewhere in the table, direct-buried cables require a minimum cover of 600 mm (24 in.) while RMC or IMC requires a minimum cover of 150 mm (6 in.).

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
One- and two-family dwelling driveway/outdoor parking (dwelling-related use only)vsGeneral streets, highways, roads, alleys, driveways, and parking lots

Under a dwelling driveway the minimum cover is 450 mm (18 in.) for both direct-burial cable and rigid metal conduit, while under general streets, highways, roads, alleys, driveways and parking lots the requirement is 600 mm (24 in.) for all wiring methods.

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
14 AWG box-fill volume allowancevs12 AWG box-fill volume allowance

Each 14 AWG conductor requires 32.8 cm³ (2.00 in.³) while each 12 AWG conductor requires 36.9 cm³ (2.25 in.³) per the box-fill volume allowance table.

NEC 2023 Table 314.16(B)(1)
Straight pulls in boxes with 4 AWG or larger conductors (314.28(A)(1))vsAngle or U pulls / splices (314.28(A)(2))

Straight pulls require box length not less than eight times the trade size of the largest raceway, while for angle or U pulls the distance from each raceway entry to the opposite wall shall not be less than six times the trade size of the largest raceway in a row.

NEC 2023 Section 314.28(A)(1)
Hermetic motor-compressor branch-circuit conductors (440.32)vsHermetic motor-compressor branch-circuit short-circuit/ground-fault OCPD (440.22(A))

Conductors must have an ampacity of at least 125% of the rated-load current (a minimum), while the OCPD is permitted at not more than 175% of the RLA (a maximum).

NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
Motor branch-circuit conductors (430.22)vsMotor feeder conductors (430.24)

Branch-circuit conductors must be not less than 125% of the single motor's full-load current, while feeder conductors must be not less than 125% of the largest motor's FLC plus the sum of the full-load currents of the other motors.

NEC 2023 Section 430.22, Table 430.248
Motor control circuit tapped from the load side of the motor branch-circuit protective devicevsMotor control circuit supplied from a separate source

A tapped control circuit is protected per 430.72, while a control circuit other than such a tapped circuit shall be protected against overcurrent in accordance with 724.43 (Class 1 power-limited rules) or the notes to Chapter 9 Table 11(A) and Table 11(B), as applicable.

NEC 2023 Section 430.72(A)
Ungrounded conductors in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire systemvsGrounded neutral conductor in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire system

Line one ungrounded conductor is black and line two ungrounded conductor is red, while the grounded neutral conductor is white or gray.

Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Common Electrical Distribution Systems, Page 13 (2020 ed.: Common Electrical Distribution Systems)

Key Terms

Authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) NEC 2023 Section 90.4(B)
Per NEC 90.4, the authority having jurisdiction for enforcement of the Code has the responsibility for making interpretations of the rules, deciding on approval of equipment and materials, and granting special permission contemplated in a number of the rules.
Mandatory rule NEC 2023 Section 90.5(A) and 90.5(B)
Per NEC 90.5(A), a rule characterized by the use of the terms 'shall' or 'shall not'.
Permissive rule NEC 2023 Section 90.5(A) and 90.5(B)
Per NEC 90.5(B), a rule characterized by the use of the terms 'shall be permitted' or 'shall not be required'.
Purpose of the NEC NEC 2023 Section 90.1(A)
Per NEC 90.1(A), the Code's purpose is the practical safeguarding of persons and property from hazards arising from the use of electricity; it is not intended as a design specification or an instruction manual for untrained persons.
Installations not covered by the NEC NEC 2023 Section 90.2(D)
Per Article 90, the Code does not cover installations in ships, watercraft other than floating buildings, railway rolling stock, aircraft, or automotive vehicles other than mobile homes and recreational vehicles.
Ampacity adjustment factor (Table 310.15(C)(1)) NEC 2023 Table 310.15(C)(1)
The percentage of the ampacity-table value that applies when more than three current-carrying conductors are in a raceway or cable: 4-6 conductors = 80%, 7-9 conductors = 70%, and 10-20 conductors = 50%.
Free conductor length NEC 2023 Section 300.14
Per NEC 300.14, at least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from the point in the box where it emerges from its raceway or cable sheath, shall be left at each outlet, junction, and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Device or equipment fill (yoke/strap allowance) NEC 2023 Section 314.16(B)(4)
Per NEC 314.16(B)(4), a double volume allowance shall be made for each yoke or strap containing one or more devices or equipment, based on the largest conductor connected to a device or equipment supported by that yoke or strap.
Array boundary (PV rapid shutdown) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
Per NEC 690.12(B), the array boundary for rapid shutdown purposes is 305 mm (1 ft) from the array in all directions.
Main bonding jumper / system bonding jumper that is a screw only NEC 2023 Section 250.28(B)
Per NEC 250.28(B), if the jumper is a screw only, the screw shall be identified with a green finish that is visible with the screw installed.
Stranded conductor requirement in raceways NEC 2023 Section 310.3(C)
Per NEC 310.3(C), conductors 8 AWG and larger installed in raceways shall be stranded, unless specifically permitted or required elsewhere in the Code to be solid.
Ambient temperature basis of Table 310.16 NEC 2023 Section 310.16
Per NEC 310.16, the ampacities in Table 310.16 are based on a 30°C (86°F) ambient temperature, and correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1) must be applied for other ambient temperatures.
Optional calculation for a dwelling unit NEC 2023 Section 220.82(A)
Per NEC 220.82(A), the optional calculation applies to a dwelling unit whose total connected load is served by a single 120/240-volt or 208Y/120-volt set of 3-wire service or feeder conductors with an ampacity of 100 or greater.
Service disconnecting means rating, one-family dwelling NEC 2023 Section 230.79(C)
Per NEC 230.79(C), the service disconnecting means for a one-family dwelling shall have a rating of not less than 100 amperes, 3-wire.
High leg (B phase) of a 120/240-volt delta system Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Common Electrical Distribution Systems, Page 13 (2020 ed.: Common Electrical Distribution Systems)
In a delta high leg system, 208 volts exists between the orange (B phase) conductor and the white (neutral) conductor.
DPDT Ugly's Electrical References 2020, Page 126
A standard electrical-drawing abbreviation for Double Pole Double Throw, a switching contact that controls two separate circuits, each with two positions.

Formulas to Know

Ohm's Law and power relationshipsI = W ÷ E (1500 W ÷ 120 V = 12.5 A); R = E ÷ I (240 V ÷ 8 A = 30 Ω); E = I × R (10 A × 12 Ω = 120 V); P = E × I; P = E² ÷ R ((240)² ÷ 20 Ω = 2880 W); R = E² ÷ P (14,400 ÷ 1200 W = 12 Ω)
Three-phase power and current (multiplier 1.73 = √3)KW = (E × I × PF × 1.73) ÷ 1000 — e.g., (460 V × 52 A × 0.80 × 1.73) ÷ 1000 ≈ 33 kW; I = (KW × 1000) ÷ (E × PF × 1.73)
Minimum feeder or service-entrance conductor ampacity with continuous loadsMinimum ampacity = noncontinuous load + 125% of continuous load (215.2(A)(1); 230.42(A)(1)) — e.g., 80 A + (60 A × 1.25) = 155 A; 30 A + (100 A × 1.25) = 155 A
Minimum branch-circuit OCPD rating for continuous loadsPer 210.20(A), OCPD rating not less than 125% of the continuous load — e.g., 16 A × 1.25 = 20 A minimum
Pull/junction box sizing for conductors 4 AWG or largerStraight pull: box length ≥ 8 × trade size of largest raceway (8 × 3 in. = 24 in./610 mm). Angle or U pull: distance from each raceway entry to opposite wall ≥ 6 × trade size of largest raceway, increased by the sum of the diameters of all other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall (6 × 3 in. = 18 in. + 2 in. = 20 in.)
Motor branch-circuit conductor ampacityPer 430.22, ampacity not less than 125% of motor FLC from Table 430.248/430.250 — e.g., 5-HP 230 V 1φ: 28 A × 1.25 = 35 A; 50-HP 480 V 3φ (65 A FLC): 65 × 1.25 = 81.25 A
Motor feeder conductor ampacityPer 430.24, not less than 125% of the largest motor FLC plus the sum of the FLCs of the other motors — e.g., (1.25 × 65 A) + 40 A = 121.25 A
Maximum nontime delay fuse for an AC polyphase motorPer Table 430.52, 300% of full-load current (300% × 65 A = 195 A); per 430.52(C)(1) Exception No. 1 the next standard size (200 A, Table 240.6) is permitted when the calculation does not correspond to a standard size
Hermetic refrigerant motor-compressor branch circuit (no marked branch-circuit selection current)Conductors: ≥125% of RLA (30 A × 1.25 = 37.5 A; 20 A × 1.25 = 25 A). OCPD: not more than 175% of RLA (30 A × 1.75 = 52.5 A; 20 A × 1.75 = 35 A); NEC 2023/2026 440.22(A) Exception No. 1 permits the next higher standard rating (60 A), while NEC 2017/2020 have no such exception so the device may not exceed 52.5 A (50 A device). If the device cannot carry starting current, it may be increased to not more than 225% of RLA (67.5 A → 60 A).
Non-dwelling load calculations: receptacles, retail lighting, receptacle demandReceptacle outlets: not less than 180 VA per single or multiple receptacle on one yoke (220.14(I)). Retail general lighting: 1.9 VA/ft² (Table 220.42(A), 125% continuous multiplier already included) — 5000 ft² × 1.9 = 9500 VA. Non-dwelling receptacle demand (Table 220.47): first 10 kVA at 100% + remainder at 50% — 10,000 + (8000 × 0.50) = 14,000 VA