Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
80
Passing score
70%
Exam time
240 min
Administered by
Pearson Vue
Format
Reference materials allowed
Kentucky State Portion
80 questions
General Knowledge5 Q · 6%
Electrical Theory and General Electrical Load CalculationsCode Definitions and TermsPlan ReadingAC Circuit Properties: Impedance, Reactance, and InductancePower Factor, Power Factor Correction, and CapacitorsNEC Purpose, Scope, and Code Arrangement (Article 90)Series, Parallel, and Combination Circuit AnalysisElectrical Distribution Systems and Wiring DiagramsField Terms vs. NEC Terms and Electrical SymbolsApplied Mathematics for Electricians: Fractions, Equations, and TrigonometryUnits of Measurement and Conversion
Services and Service Equipment9 Q · 11%
Services and Fault CurrentService Load CalculationsService Equipment & Service ConductorsTransformersSystem Grounding and BondingTemporary Service WiringService disconnecting means requirements and ratingsOvercurrent protection for services and ground-fault protection of equipmentOverhead and underground service conductor installation requirementsSurge-protective devices (SPDs) and surge arresters at service equipmentGrounding electrode system types and installationEquipment grounding conductor types, sizing, and identification+2 more
Feeders3 Q · 4%
Load CalculationsEquipment GroundingFeeder conductor sizing (minimum ampacity and continuous vs. noncontinuous loads)Overcurrent protection for feedersFeeder neutral conductor sizingDemand factors for dwelling and non-dwelling loadsOutside feeder installation requirements (clearances, supports, and wiring methods)Feeder disconnecting means requirements (rating, location, and number)Surge-protective device requirements for feedersGround-fault protection of equipment for feeder disconnects
Branch Circuits and Conductors15 Q · 19%
Branch Circuit CalculationOvercurrent ProtectionConductorsRequired Outlets & GFCI/AFCI ProtectionEquipment GroundingVoltage Drop Calculations for Branch CircuitsConductor Ampacity Correction and Adjustment FactorsConductor Insulation Types and ApplicationsMultiwire Branch Circuit RequirementsBranch Circuit Voltage LimitationsGrounded Conductor Identification and Use
Wiring Methods and Materials21 Q · 26%
Raceway InstallationsUnderground Wiring MethodsBoxes and EnclosuresCabinets, Panelboards, & SwitchboardsClearance and GuardingFlexible Cords and CablesCable Wiring Methods (NM, AC, MC, MI, SE, UF, TC, ITC, and specialty types) — Uses Permitted and Not PermittedConduit Bending Calculations and TechniquesConductor Fill and Conduit Sizing (Chapter 9 Tables)General Wiring Requirements — Conductor Grouping, Protection from Physical Damage, and Structural PenetrationsCable Tray Systems — Installation, Fill, and Wiring Methods PermittedSpecial Raceway Systems — Busways, Wireways, Auxiliary Gutters, and Surface Raceways+2 more
Equipment and Devices10 Q · 13%
LuminairesReceptacles, Switches and Other DevicesAppliances and Other EquipmentOther Utilization EquipmentHeating and Cooling EquipmentFixture Wire Types, Ampacity, and Installation RequirementsLighting Track Installation, Construction, and RestrictionsLow-Voltage Lighting System Requirements and Voltage LimitationsNEMA Receptacle and Attachment Plug ConfigurationsDisconnecting Means for Fixed Electric Space-Heating EquipmentBranch-Circuit and Overcurrent Protection for Air-Conditioning and Refrigerating EquipmentGround-Fault Protection for Outdoor Deicing, Snow-Melting, and Pipeline Heating Equipment
Control Devices3 Q · 4%
Switches, Disconnects and ControllersMotor controller ratings, markings, and horsepower requirementsMotor control circuit overcurrent protection and wiring methodsMotor disconnecting means types, location, and current ratingsMotor overload protection devices and settingsStop-start stations, jogging circuits, and hand-off-automatic control schemesIndustrial control panel overcurrent protection, short-circuit current rating, and markingClass 1 power-limited remote-control and signaling circuit requirementsMotor control center installation, overcurrent protection, and grounding
Motors and Generators5 Q · 6%
MotorsGeneratorsMotor branch-circuit conductor sizing (125% rule and special motor types)Motor overload protection selection and trip current percentagesMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device ratings (Table 430.52)Motor disconnecting means requirements and locationMotor controllers — ratings, types, and marking requirementsMotor control centers — overcurrent protection, grounding, and busbar arrangementsGenerator installation requirements — overcurrent protection, conductor ampacity, and disconnecting meansPhase converters and capacitors in motor circuits
Special Occupancies, Equipment, and Conditions9 Q · 11%
Special OccupanciesSwimming Pools and Similar InstallationsMobile Home and RV ParksData Processing EquipmentMiscellaneous Special EquipmentEmergency SystemsSignaling and Fire Alarm SystemsHazardous Location Classification (Classes, Divisions, and Zones)Wiring Methods and Equipment in Hazardous LocationsHealth Care Facility Essential Electrical Systems and Patient Care SpacesSolar PV, Wind, and Fuel Cell System Wiring and Disconnecting MeansEnergy Storage Systems and Interconnected Power Production Sources+3 more
Key Distinctions
Elevator raceway fill (620.33)vsGeneral wiring raceway fill (Chapter 9, Table 1)
For elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional area of the individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway's interior cross-sectional area, a special provision that differs from the standard Chapter 9, Table 1 fill percentages used in general wiring.
NEC 2023 Section 620.33
Cables/raceways through bored holes in wood membersvsCables/raceways laid in notches in wood members
Bored holes must be located so the edge of the hole is not less than 32 mm (1 1/4 in.) from the edge of the wood member (300.4(A)(1)), while cables or raceways in notches must be covered by a steel plate at least 1.6 mm (1/16 in.) thick (300.4(A)(2)); the same 1.6 mm plate is used where the 1 1/4 in. distance cannot be maintained.
NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(1)
Direct-buried cables/conductors, minimum covervsRigid metal conduit or intermediate metal conduit, minimum cover
In all locations not specified elsewhere in Table 300.5(A), direct-buried cables or conductors require 600 mm (24 in.) of cover while RMC or IMC requires only 150 mm (6 in.).
NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
RMC under a one- and two-family dwelling drivewayvsRMC in 'all locations not specified' in Table 300.5(A)
A dwelling driveway is a specified location requiring 450 mm (18 in.) of cover for RMC, whereas the 150 mm (6 in.) RMC figure applies only to locations not specified in the table (general streets, roads, alleys, driveways and parking lots require 600 mm / 24 in. for all wiring methods).
NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Boxes in wet locationsvsBoxes in damp locations
Per 314.15, boxes, conduit bodies, outlet box hoods and fittings installed in wet locations shall be listed for use in wet locations, while in damp locations they need only be placed or equipped to prevent moisture from entering or accumulating.
NEC 2023 Section 314.15
Straight pulls in boxes with 4 AWG or larger conductorsvsAngle or U pulls (or splices) in boxes with 4 AWG or larger conductors
Straight pulls require box length not less than eight times the trade size of the largest raceway (314.28(A)(1)), while angle or U pulls require the distance from each raceway entry to the opposite wall to be not less than six times the trade size of the largest raceway, increased by the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row (314.28(A)(2)).
Box-fill volume allowance is 32.8 cm³ (2.00 in.³) per 14 AWG conductor and 36.9 cm³ (2.25 in.³) per 12 AWG conductor.
NEC 2023 Table 314.16(B)(1)
Motor branch-circuit conductor sizing (430.22)vsMotor feeder conductor sizing (430.24)
Branch-circuit conductors must have an ampacity not less than 125% of the single motor's full-load current, while feeder conductors must be not less than 125% of the largest motor's FLC plus the sum of the full-load currents of the other motors.
Conductors must have an ampacity of at least 125% of the rated-load current, while the protective device is permitted to be rated up to 175% of the RLA (increased to not more than 225% of RLA only if the device will not carry the starting current).
NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
Motor control circuit tapped from the load side of the motor branch-circuit protective devicevsMotor control circuit supplied from a separate source
A tapped control circuit is protected per 430.72, but a motor control circuit other than such a tapped circuit shall be protected against overcurrent in accordance with 724.43 or the notes to Chapter 9 Table 11(A) and Table 11(B), as applicable.
NEC 2023 Section 430.72(A)
Grounded (neutral) conductor in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire systemvsUngrounded conductors in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire system
The grounded neutral is colored white or gray (per NEC 200.6(A)), while the two ungrounded conductors are black (line one) and red (line two).
Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Common Electrical Distribution Systems, Page 13 (2020 ed.: Common Electrical Distribution Systems)
Ampacity adjustment for 4-6 current-carrying conductorsvsAmpacity adjustment for 7-9 and for 10-20 current-carrying conductors
Per Table 310.15(C)(1), 4-6 conductors use an 80% adjustment factor, 7-9 conductors use 70%, and 10-20 conductors use 50% of the values in the ampacity tables.
NEC 2023 Table 310.15(C)(1)
Key Terms
Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) NEC 2023 Section 90.4(B)
Per NEC 90.4, the authority having jurisdiction for enforcement of the Code has responsibility for making interpretations of the rules, deciding on approval of equipment and materials, and granting special permission contemplated in a number of the rules.
Installations not covered by the NEC NEC 2023 Section 90.2(D)
Per 90.2, the Code does not cover installations in ships, watercraft other than floating buildings, railway rolling stock, aircraft, or automotive vehicles other than mobile homes and recreational vehicles.
Arrangement of the Code (90.3) NEC 2023 Section 90.3
The NEC is divided into an introduction and nine chapters: Chapters 1-4 apply generally, Chapters 5-7 apply to special conditions, Chapter 8 covers communications, and Chapter 9 consists of tables.
Minimum feeder ampacity for continuous loads (215.2(A)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 215.2(A)(1)
Where a feeder supplies continuous loads or a combination of continuous and noncontinuous loads, the minimum feeder conductor ampacity shall be not less than the noncontinuous load plus 125 percent of the continuous load.
Service disconnecting means rating, one-family dwelling (230.79(C)) NEC 2023 Section 230.79(C)
For a one-family dwelling the service disconnecting means shall have a rating of not less than 100 amperes, 3-wire.
Overhead service conductors, minimum size (230.23(B)) NEC 2023 Section 230.23(B)
Overhead service conductors shall not be smaller than 8 AWG copper or 6 AWG aluminum or copper-clad aluminum.
Free conductor length at boxes (300.14) NEC 2023 Section 300.14
At least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from the point in the box where it emerges from its raceway or cable sheath, shall be left at each outlet, junction, and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Stranded conductors in raceways (310.3(C)) NEC 2023 Section 310.3(C)
Where installed in raceways, conductors 8 AWG and larger shall be stranded, unless specifically permitted or required elsewhere in the Code to be solid.
Ambient basis of Table 310.16 NEC 2023 Section 310.16
The ampacities in Table 310.16 are based on a 30°C (86°F) ambient temperature; for other ambients, correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1) must be applied.
Type THHN conductor rating NEC 2023 Table 310.4(1)
Per Table 310.4(1), Type THHN has a maximum operating temperature of 90°C (194°F) in dry and damp locations.
Conductor size marking interval (310.8(B)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 310.8(B)(1)
The AWG size or circular mil area shall be repeated at intervals not exceeding 610 mm (24 in.) on single-conductor and multiconductor thermoset and thermoplastic-insulated wire and cable.
Field-installed drainage openings (314.15) NEC 2023 Section 314.15
Approved drainage openings not smaller than 3 mm (1/8 in.) and not larger than 6 mm (1/4 in.) in diameter are permitted to be installed in the field in boxes or conduit bodies listed for use in damp or wet locations.
Double volume allowance for devices (314.16(B)(4)) NEC 2023 Section 314.16(B)(4)
For each yoke or strap containing one or more devices or equipment, a double volume allowance per Table 314.16(B)(1) shall be made, based on the largest conductor connected to a device or equipment supported by that yoke or strap.
Nonmetallic-sheathed cable sheath extension (314.17(B)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 314.17(B)(2)
Where cable assemblies with nonmetallic sheaths are used, the sheath shall extend not less than 6 mm (1/4 in.) inside the box and 6 mm (1/4 in.) beyond the end of any cable clamp.
Main bonding jumper / system bonding jumper that is a screw only (250.28(B)) NEC 2023 Section 250.28(B)
If the main or system bonding jumper is a screw only, the screw shall be identified with a green finish that is visible with the screw installed.
PV array boundary for rapid shutdown (690.12(B)) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
The array boundary is 305 mm (1 ft) from the array in all directions; controlled conductors outside this boundary and more than 1 m (3 ft) from the array, or inside a building, shall be limited to not more than 30 volts within 30 seconds of rapid shutdown initiation.
Formulas to Know
Ohm's Law and power formulas (Ugly's, Ohm's Law page)I = W ÷ E (1500 W ÷ 120 V = 12.5 A); R = E ÷ I (240 V ÷ 8 A = 30 Ω); E = I × R (10 A × 12 Ω = 120 V); P = E × I; P = E² ÷ R (240² ÷ 20 Ω = 2,880 W)
Three-phase power and current (1.73 = √3 multiplier for the 120-degree phase relationship)kW = (E × I × PF × 1.73) ÷ 1000 — example: (460 V × 52 A × 0.80 × 1.73) ÷ 1000 ≈ 33 kW; three-phase amperes from horsepower: I = (HP × 746) ÷ (E × %EFF × PF × 1.73)
Minimum ampacity / OCPD rating for continuous loadsFeeder and service-entrance conductors (215.2(A)(1), 230.42(A)(1)): ampacity ≥ noncontinuous load + 125% of continuous load — examples: 80 A + (60 A × 1.25) = 155 A; (100 A × 125%) + 30 A = 155 A. Branch-circuit OCPD (210.20(A)): rating not less than 125% of the continuous load — example: 16 A × 1.25 = 20 A.
Pull/junction box sizing for conductors 4 AWG and largerStraight pull (314.28(A)(1)): box length ≥ 8 × trade size of largest raceway — example: 8 × 3 in. = 24 in. (610 mm). Angle or U pull (314.28(A)(2)): distance from raceway entry to opposite wall ≥ 6 × trade size of largest raceway, increased by the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall — example: (6 × 3 in.) + 2 in. = 20 in.
Motor branch-circuit and feeder conductor ampacityBranch circuit (430.22): ampacity ≥ 125% × motor FLC from Table 430.248/430.250 — examples: 5 HP, 230 V, 1-phase = 28 A × 1.25 = 35 A; 50 HP, 480 V, 3-phase = 65 A × 1.25 = 81.25 A. Feeder (430.24): ampacity ≥ (125% × largest motor FLC) + sum of other motor FLCs — example: (1.25 × 65 A) + 40 A = 121.25 A.
Nontime-delay fuse for AC polyphase motor branch-circuit short-circuit/ground-fault protectionMax fuse = 300% × motor FLC (Table 430.52); where the result is not a standard size, 430.52(C)(1) Exception No. 1 permits the next standard size from Table 240.6 — example: 50 HP, 460 V, 3-phase FLC 65 A × 300% = 195 A → 200 A fuse.
Hermetic refrigerant motor-compressor branch circuit (no branch-circuit selection current marked)Conductors (440.32): ≥ 125% × RLA — examples: 30 A × 1.25 = 37.5 A; 20 A × 1.25 = 25 A. OCPD (440.22(A)): not more than 175% × RLA — examples: 30 A × 1.75 = 52.5 A; 20 A × 1.75 = 35 A. NEC 2023/2026 (440.22(A) Exc. No. 1) permit the next higher standard rating (60 A for 52.5 A); NEC 2017/2020 have no such exception, so the device may not exceed 52.5 A (50 A device). In every edition, if the device will not carry the starting current it may be increased to not more than 225% of RLA (67.5 A → 60 A).
Non-dwelling receptacle load and demand factorsLoad per outlet (220.14(I)): not less than 180 VA for each single or each multiple receptacle on one yoke. Demand (Table 220.47): first 10 kVA at 100% + remainder over 10 kVA at 50% — example: 18 kVA → 10,000 VA + (8,000 × 0.50) = 14,000 VA.
Minimum general lighting load, retail occupancyArea (ft²) × 1.9 VA/ft² (Table 220.42(A)) — example: 5,000 ft² × 1.9 = 9,500 VA; the note states the 125% continuous-load multiplier is already included, so no additional multiplier is required.
Feeder tap not over 10 ft that leaves the enclosure (240.21(B)(1))Tap conductor ampacity ≥ 1/10 of the rating of the overcurrent device protecting the feeder — example: 200 A ÷ 10 = 20 A; the tap must also meet the other 240.21(B)(1) requirements, including being not less than the combined calculated loads.