Exam Cheat Sheet · Quick Reference

South Dakota Journeyman Electrician Exam (ICC 531, 2023 NEC)

South Dakota  ·  Pearson Vue

Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
80
Passing score
70%
Exam time
240 min
Administered by
Pearson Vue
Format
Reference materials allowed

South Dakota State Portion 80 questions

General Knowledge 5 Q · 6%
Electrical Theory and General Electrical Load CalculationsCode Definitions and TermsPlan ReadingAC Circuit Properties: Impedance, Reactance, and InductancePower Factor, Power Factor Correction, and CapacitorsNEC Purpose, Scope, and Code Arrangement (Article 90)Series, Parallel, and Combination Circuit AnalysisElectrical Distribution Systems and Wiring DiagramsField Terms vs. NEC Terms and Electrical SymbolsApplied Mathematics for Electricians: Fractions, Equations, and TrigonometryUnits of Measurement and Conversion
Services and Service Equipment 9 Q · 11%
Services and Fault CurrentService Load CalculationsService Equipment & Service ConductorsTransformersSystem Grounding and BondingTemporary Service WiringService disconnecting means requirements and ratingsOvercurrent protection for services and ground-fault protection of equipmentOverhead and underground service conductor installation requirementsSurge-protective devices (SPDs) and surge arresters at service equipmentGrounding electrode system types and installationEquipment grounding conductor types, sizing, and identification +2 more
Feeders 3 Q · 4%
Load CalculationsEquipment GroundingFeeder conductor sizing (minimum ampacity and continuous vs. noncontinuous loads)Overcurrent protection for feedersFeeder neutral conductor sizingDemand factors for dwelling and non-dwelling loadsOutside feeder installation requirements (clearances, supports, and wiring methods)Feeder disconnecting means requirements (rating, location, and number)Surge-protective device requirements for feedersGround-fault protection of equipment for feeder disconnects
Branch Circuit Conductors 15 Q · 19%
Branch Circuit CalculationOvercurrent ProtectionConductorsRequired Outlets & GFCI/AFCI ProtectionEquipment GroundingVoltage Drop Calculations for Branch CircuitsConductor Ampacity Correction and Adjustment FactorsConductor Insulation Types and ApplicationsMultiwire Branch Circuit RequirementsBranch Circuit Voltage LimitationsGrounded Conductor Identification and Use
Wiring Methods and Materials 21 Q · 26%
Raceway InstallationsUnderground Wiring MethodsBoxes and EnclosuresCabinets, Panelboards, & SwitchboardsClearance and GuardingFlexible Cords and CablesCable Wiring Methods (NM, AC, MC, MI, SE, UF, TC, ITC, and specialty types) — Uses Permitted and Not PermittedConduit Bending Calculations and TechniquesConductor Fill and Conduit Sizing (Chapter 9 Tables)General Wiring Requirements — Conductor Grouping, Protection from Physical Damage, and Structural PenetrationsCable Tray Systems — Installation, Fill, and Wiring Methods PermittedSpecial Raceway Systems — Busways, Wireways, Auxiliary Gutters, and Surface Raceways +2 more
Equipment Devices 10 Q · 12%
LuminairesReceptacles, Switches and Other DevicesAppliances and Other EquipmentOther Utilization EquipmentHeating and Cooling EquipmentFixture Wire Types, Ampacity, and Installation RequirementsLighting Track Installation, Construction, and RestrictionsLow-Voltage Lighting System Requirements and Voltage LimitationsNEMA Receptacle and Attachment Plug ConfigurationsDisconnecting Means for Fixed Electric Space-Heating EquipmentBranch-Circuit and Overcurrent Protection for Air-Conditioning and Refrigerating EquipmentGround-Fault Protection for Outdoor Deicing, Snow-Melting, and Pipeline Heating Equipment
Control Devices 3 Q · 4%
Switches, Disconnects and ControllersMotor controller ratings, markings, and horsepower requirementsMotor control circuit overcurrent protection and wiring methodsMotor disconnecting means types, location, and current ratingsMotor overload protection devices and settingsStop-start stations, jogging circuits, and hand-off-automatic control schemesIndustrial control panel overcurrent protection, short-circuit current rating, and markingClass 1 power-limited remote-control and signaling circuit requirementsMotor control center installation, overcurrent protection, and grounding
Motors and Generators 5 Q · 6%
MotorsGeneratorsMotor branch-circuit conductor sizing (125% rule and special motor types)Motor overload protection selection and trip current percentagesMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device ratings (Table 430.52)Motor disconnecting means requirements and locationMotor controllers — ratings, types, and marking requirementsMotor control centers — overcurrent protection, grounding, and busbar arrangementsGenerator installation requirements — overcurrent protection, conductor ampacity, and disconnecting meansPhase converters and capacitors in motor circuits
Special Occupancies, Equipment and Conditions 9 Q · 11%
Special OccupanciesSwimming Pools and Similar InstallationsMobile Home and RV ParksData Processing EquipmentMiscellaneous Special EquipmentEmergency SystemsSignaling and Fire Alarm SystemsHazardous Location Classification (Classes, Divisions, and Zones)Wiring Methods and Equipment in Hazardous LocationsHealth Care Facility Essential Electrical Systems and Patient Care SpacesSolar PV, Wind, and Fuel Cell System Wiring and Disconnecting MeansEnergy Storage Systems and Interconnected Power Production Sources +3 more

Key Distinctions

Continuous loadvsNoncontinuous load

For feeders, services, and branch circuits the minimum conductor ampacity (and branch-circuit OCPD rating) must be the noncontinuous load taken at 100 percent plus 125 percent of the continuous load.

NEC 2023 Section 215.2(A)(1)
Elevator raceway fill (620.33)vsGeneral Chapter 9, Table 1 fill

In elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional areas of the individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway interior area, a special provision that differs from the standard Chapter 9, Table 1 percentages used in general wiring.

NEC 2023 Section 620.33
Straight pull box (314.28(A)(1))vsAngle or U pull box (314.28(A)(2))

For conductors 4 AWG or larger, a straight pull box length shall be not less than eight times the trade size of the largest raceway, while for angle or U pulls the distance from each raceway entry to the opposite wall shall be not less than six times the largest trade size, increased by the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall.

NEC 2023 Section 314.28(A)(1)
Direct-buried cable covervsRMC/IMC cover

In Table 300.5(A) 'all locations not specified' direct-buried cables or conductors need a minimum cover of 600 mm (24 in.) while rigid metal conduit or intermediate metal conduit needs only 150 mm (6 in.).

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Burial under a one- and two-family dwelling drivewayvsBurial in 'all locations not specified'

A dwelling driveway/outdoor parking area used only for dwelling purposes is a specified location requiring 450 mm (18 in.) cover even for rigid metal conduit, whereas the 150 mm (6 in.) RMC figure applies only to locations not specified in Table 300.5(A).

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Boxes in wet locationsvsBoxes in damp locations

Per 314.15, boxes, conduit bodies, outlet box hoods, and fittings in wet locations shall be listed for wet locations, while in damp locations they only need to be placed or equipped to prevent moisture from entering or accumulating.

NEC 2023 Section 314.15
Ungrounded conductors, 120/240 V single-phase 3-wirevsGrounded neutral conductor, 120/240 V single-phase 3-wire

Line one is black and line two is red, while the grounded neutral conductor is white or gray.

Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Common Electrical Distribution Systems, Page 13 (2020 ed.: Common Electrical Distribution Systems)
Motor branch-circuit conductorsvsMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protection (nontime delay fuse)

Conductors are sized at not less than 125 percent of the motor full-load current (430.22), while a nontime delay fuse for an AC polyphase motor shall not exceed a maximum rating of 300 percent of full-load current per Table 430.52, with the next standard size permitted per 430.52(C)(1) Exception No. 1 when the calculation does not match a standard rating.

NEC Table 430.52, Table 430.250, 430.52(C)(1)
Motor branch-circuit conductor sizing (430.22)vsMotor feeder conductor sizing (430.24)

A branch circuit uses 125 percent of that motor's full-load current, while a feeder uses 125 percent of the largest motor's FLC plus the sum of the full-load currents of the other motors.

NEC 2023 Section 430.22, Table 430.248
Hermetic motor-compressor conductors (440.32)vsHermetic motor-compressor OCPD (440.22(A))

Conductors require an ampacity of at least 125 percent of the rated-load current, while the branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault device is permitted at not more than 175 percent of the RLA (increased to not more than 225 percent only if the device cannot carry the starting current).

NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
Hermetic compressor OCPD in NEC 2023/2026vsHermetic compressor OCPD in NEC 2017/2020

NEC 2023 and 2026 (440.22(A) Exception No. 1) permit the next higher standard rating when 175 percent of RLA is not a standard size, while NEC 2017 and 2020 have no such exception so the device may not exceed the 175 percent value.

NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
Motor control circuit tapped from load side of the motor branch-circuit protective devicevsMotor control circuit supplied from a separate source

A tapped control circuit is protected per 430.72, while a control circuit other than such a tapped circuit shall be protected against overcurrent in accordance with 724.43 or the notes to Chapter 9 Table 11(A) and Table 11(B), as applicable.

NEC 2023 Section 430.72(A)

Key Terms

Authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) NEC 2023 Section 90.4(B)
Per 90.4, the AHJ for enforcement of the Code is responsible for making interpretations of the rules, deciding on approval of equipment and materials, and granting special permission.
NEC scope exclusions (90.2(D)) NEC 2023 Section 90.2(D)
The Code does not cover installations in ships, watercraft other than floating buildings, railway rolling stock, aircraft, or automotive vehicles other than mobile homes and recreational vehicles.
Code arrangement (90.3) NEC 2023 Section 90.3
The NEC is divided into an introduction and nine chapters: Chapters 1-4 apply generally, Chapters 5-7 apply to special conditions, Chapter 8 covers communications, and Chapter 9 consists of tables.
Free conductor length (300.14) NEC 2023 Section 300.14
At least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from where it emerges from the raceway or cable sheath in the box, shall be left at each outlet, junction, and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Bored holes in wood members (300.4(A)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(1)
Holes shall be bored so the edge of the hole is not less than 32 mm (1 1/4 in.) from the edges of the wood member; where that distance cannot be maintained, a steel plate at least 1.6 mm (1/16 in.) thick protects the cable or raceway from screws and nails.
Notches in wood members (300.4(A)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(2)
Cables or raceways laid in notches shall be protected from nail or screw penetration by a steel plate at least 1.6 mm (1/16 in.) thick of appropriate length and width covering the wiring area.
Cables/raceways parallel to framing members (300.4(D)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(D)
The nearest outside surface must be not less than 32 mm (1 1/4 in.) from the edge of the framing member where nails or screws are likely to penetrate; otherwise steel plate or sleeve protection is required.
Conductors of the same circuit (300.3(B)) NEC 2023 Section 300.3(B)
All conductors of the same circuit, and where used the grounded conductor and all equipment grounding and bonding conductors, shall be contained within the same raceway, conduit body, auxiliary gutter, cable tray, cablebus assembly, trench, cable, or cord unless otherwise permitted.
Protection of direct-buried cable at grade (300.5(D)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 300.5(D)(1)
Direct-buried conductors and cables emerging from grade and specified in Columns 1 and 4 of Table 300.5(A) shall be protected by enclosures or raceways extending from the minimum required cover below grade to a point at least 2.5 m (8 ft) above finished grade; in no case shall the protection be required to exceed 450 mm (18 in.) below finished grade.
Wet location raceway interior (300.9) NEC 2023 Section 300.9
Where raceways are installed in wet locations above grade, the interior of the raceway is considered a wet location and conductors must comply with 310.10(C).
Service disconnecting means rating, one-family dwelling (230.79(C)) NEC 2023 Section 230.79(C)
For a one-family dwelling the service disconnecting means shall have a rating of not less than 100 amperes, 3-wire.
Overhead service conductor minimum size (230.23(B)) NEC 2023 Section 230.23(B)
Overhead service conductors shall not be smaller than 8 AWG copper or 6 AWG aluminum or copper-clad aluminum.
Overhead service conductor clearance (230.24(B)) NEC 2023 Section 230.24(B)
Overhead service conductors not exceeding 1000 volts nominal require a minimum clearance of 5.5 m (18 ft) over public streets, alleys, roads, parking areas subject to truck traffic, driveways on other than residential property, and cultivated, grazing, forest, and orchard land.
Main/system bonding jumper screw (250.28(B)) NEC 2023 Section 250.28(B)
If the main bonding jumper or system bonding jumper is a screw only, the screw shall be identified with a green finish visible with the screw installed.
Stranded conductors in raceways (310.3(C)) NEC 2023 Section 310.3(C)
Where installed in raceways, conductors 8 AWG and larger shall be stranded unless specifically permitted or required elsewhere in the Code to be solid.
Optional dwelling-unit calculation (220.82(A)) NEC 2023 Section 220.82(A)
The optional calculation applies to a dwelling unit whose total connected load is served by a single 120/240-volt or 208Y/120-volt set of 3-wire service or feeder conductors with an ampacity of 100 or greater.
Receptacle outlet load (220.14(I)) NEC 2023 Section 220.14(I)
Receptacle outlets shall be calculated at not less than 180 volt-amperes for each single or each multiple receptacle on one yoke, so a duplex receptacle counts as 180 VA.
Device/yoke box fill (314.16(B)(4)) NEC 2023 Section 314.16(B)(4)
Each yoke or strap containing one or more devices or equipment requires a double volume allowance from Table 314.16(B)(1), based on the largest conductor connected to a device or equipment supported by that yoke or strap.
PV array boundary for rapid shutdown (690.12(B)) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
The array boundary is 305 mm (1 ft) from the array in all directions; controlled conductors outside this boundary and more than 1 m (3 ft) from the array, or inside a building, shall be limited to not more than 30 volts within 30 seconds of rapid shutdown initiation.
Feeder tap, not over 10 ft (240.21(B)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 240.21(B)(1)
For taps not over 10 ft long that leave the enclosure or vault where the tap is made, the tap conductor ampacity must be not less than one-tenth of the rating of the overcurrent device protecting the feeder, and must also meet the other 240.21(B)(1) requirements including not being less than the combined calculated loads.

Formulas to Know

Ohm's Law (current, resistance, voltage)Amperes = Watts ÷ Volts (e.g., 1500 W ÷ 120 V = 12.5 A); Ohms = Volts ÷ Amperes (e.g., 240 V ÷ 8 A = 30 ohms); E = I × R (e.g., 10 A × 12 ohms = 120 V)
Power in wattsP = E × I when voltage and current are known; P = E² ÷ R when voltage and resistance are known (e.g., 240² ÷ 20 = 2,880 W)
Minimum feeder / service-entrance conductor ampacity with continuous loadsMinimum ampacity = noncontinuous load + (125% × continuous load); example: 80 A + (60 A × 1.25) = 155 A; example: 30 A + (100 A × 1.25) = 155 A
Minimum branch-circuit OCPD rating with continuous loads (210.20(A))OCPD rating ≥ noncontinuous load + (125% × continuous load); example with no noncontinuous load: 16 A × 1.25 = 20 A minimum device rating
Motor branch-circuit conductor and motor feeder conductor ampacityBranch circuit (430.22): ≥125% of motor FLC from Table 430.248/430.250 (e.g., 5 HP, 230 V, 1-phase = 28 A → 28 × 1.25 = 35 A; 50 HP, 480 V, 3-phase = 65 A → 65 × 1.25 = 81.25 A). Feeder (430.24): (125% × largest motor FLC) + sum of other motor FLCs (e.g., (1.25 × 65) + 40 = 121.25 A)
Nontime delay fuse for AC polyphase motor (Table 430.52)Maximum fuse = 300% × motor FLC (e.g., 300% × 65 A = 195 A); where the result is not a standard size, 430.52(C)(1) Exception No. 1 permits the next standard size from Table 240.6 (200 A)
Hermetic refrigerant motor-compressor branch circuit (no BCSC marked)Conductors (440.32) ≥ 125% × RLA (30 A × 1.25 = 37.5 A; 20 A × 1.25 = 25 A); OCPD (440.22(A)) not more than 175% × RLA (30 A × 1.75 = 52.5 A; 20 A × 1.75 = 35 A); if that device cannot carry starting current it may be increased to not more than 225% × RLA (30 A × 2.25 = 67.5 A → 60 A)
Straight pull box minimum length (314.28(A)(1), conductors 4 AWG or larger)Length ≥ 8 × trade size of largest raceway; example: 8 × 3 in. = 24 in. (610 mm)
Angle or U pull minimum distance (314.28(A)(2))Distance from raceway entry to opposite wall ≥ (6 × trade size of largest raceway) + sum of diameters of all other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall; example: (6 × 3 in.) + 2 in. = 20 in.
Three-phase calculations using the 1.73 (√3) multiplierkW = (E × I × PF × 1.73) ÷ 1000 (e.g., (460 × 52 × 0.80 × 1.73) ÷ 1000 ≈ 33 kW); Amperes when HP known = (HP × 746) ÷ (E × %EFF × PF × 1.73)