Exam Cheat Sheet · Quick Reference

Wyoming Journeyman Electrician Exam (ICC 385, 2023 NEC)

Wyoming  ·  Pearson Vue

Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
80
Passing score
70%
Exam time
240 min
Administered by
Pearson Vue
Format
Reference materials allowed

Wyoming State Portion 80 questions

General Knowledge 5 Q · 6%
Electrical Theory and General Electrical Load CalculationsCode Definitions and TermsPlan ReadingAC Circuit Properties: Impedance, Reactance, and InductancePower Factor, Power Factor Correction, and CapacitorsNEC Purpose, Scope, and Code Arrangement (Article 90)Series, Parallel, and Combination Circuit AnalysisElectrical Distribution Systems and Wiring DiagramsField Terms vs. NEC Terms and Electrical SymbolsApplied Mathematics for Electricians: Fractions, Equations, and TrigonometryUnits of Measurement and Conversion
Services and Service Equipment 9 Q · 11%
Services and Fault CurrentService Load CalculationsService Equipment & Service ConductorsTransformersSystem Grounding and BondingTemporary Service WiringService disconnecting means requirements and ratingsOvercurrent protection for services and ground-fault protection of equipmentOverhead and underground service conductor installation requirementsSurge-protective devices (SPDs) and surge arresters at service equipmentGrounding electrode system types and installationEquipment grounding conductor types, sizing, and identification +2 more
Feeders 3 Q · 4%
Load CalculationsEquipment GroundingFeeder conductor sizing (minimum ampacity and continuous vs. noncontinuous loads)Overcurrent protection for feedersFeeder neutral conductor sizingDemand factors for dwelling and non-dwelling loadsOutside feeder installation requirements (clearances, supports, and wiring methods)Feeder disconnecting means requirements (rating, location, and number)Surge-protective device requirements for feedersGround-fault protection of equipment for feeder disconnects
Branch Circuits and Conductors 15 Q · 19%
Branch Circuit CalculationOvercurrent ProtectionConductorsRequired Outlets & GFCI/AFCI ProtectionEquipment GroundingVoltage Drop Calculations for Branch CircuitsConductor Ampacity Correction and Adjustment FactorsConductor Insulation Types and ApplicationsMultiwire Branch Circuit RequirementsBranch Circuit Voltage LimitationsGrounded Conductor Identification and Use
Wiring Methods and Materials 21 Q · 26%
Raceway InstallationsUnderground Wiring MethodsBoxes and EnclosuresCabinets, Panelboards, & SwitchboardsClearance and GuardingFlexible Cords and CablesCable Wiring Methods (NM, AC, MC, MI, SE, UF, TC, ITC, and specialty types) — Uses Permitted and Not PermittedConduit Bending Calculations and TechniquesConductor Fill and Conduit Sizing (Chapter 9 Tables)General Wiring Requirements — Conductor Grouping, Protection from Physical Damage, and Structural PenetrationsCable Tray Systems — Installation, Fill, and Wiring Methods PermittedSpecial Raceway Systems — Busways, Wireways, Auxiliary Gutters, and Surface Raceways +2 more
Equipment and Devices 10 Q · 12%
LuminairesReceptacles, Switches and Other DevicesAppliances and Other EquipmentOther Utilization EquipmentHeating and Cooling EquipmentFixture Wire Types, Ampacity, and Installation RequirementsLighting Track Installation, Construction, and RestrictionsLow-Voltage Lighting System Requirements and Voltage LimitationsNEMA Receptacle and Attachment Plug ConfigurationsDisconnecting Means for Fixed Electric Space-Heating EquipmentBranch-Circuit and Overcurrent Protection for Air-Conditioning and Refrigerating EquipmentGround-Fault Protection for Outdoor Deicing, Snow-Melting, and Pipeline Heating Equipment
Control Devices 3 Q · 4%
Switches, Disconnects and ControllersMotor controller ratings, markings, and horsepower requirementsMotor control circuit overcurrent protection and wiring methodsMotor disconnecting means types, location, and current ratingsMotor overload protection devices and settingsStop-start stations, jogging circuits, and hand-off-automatic control schemesIndustrial control panel overcurrent protection, short-circuit current rating, and markingClass 1 power-limited remote-control and signaling circuit requirementsMotor control center installation, overcurrent protection, and grounding
Motors and Generators 5 Q · 6%
MotorsGeneratorsMotor branch-circuit conductor sizing (125% rule and special motor types)Motor overload protection selection and trip current percentagesMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device ratings (Table 430.52)Motor disconnecting means requirements and locationMotor controllers — ratings, types, and marking requirementsMotor control centers — overcurrent protection, grounding, and busbar arrangementsGenerator installation requirements — overcurrent protection, conductor ampacity, and disconnecting meansPhase converters and capacitors in motor circuits
Special Occupancies, Equipment, and Conditions 9 Q · 11%
Special OccupanciesSwimming Pools and Similar InstallationsMobile Home and RV ParksData Processing EquipmentMiscellaneous Special EquipmentEmergency SystemsSignaling and Fire Alarm SystemsHazardous Location Classification (Classes, Divisions, and Zones)Wiring Methods and Equipment in Hazardous LocationsHealth Care Facility Essential Electrical Systems and Patient Care SpacesSolar PV, Wind, and Fuel Cell System Wiring and Disconnecting MeansEnergy Storage Systems and Interconnected Power Production Sources +3 more

Key Distinctions

Elevator raceway fill (620.33)vsGeneral wiring raceway fill (Chapter 9, Table 1)

In elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional area of the individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway interior cross-sectional area, a special provision that differs from the standard Chapter 9, Table 1 fill percentages used in general wiring.

NEC 2023 Section 620.33
Direct-buried cables/conductors — minimum covervsRigid metal conduit or intermediate metal conduit — minimum cover

In "all locations not specified" in Table 300.5(A), direct-buried cables or conductors require a minimum cover of 600 mm (24 in.) while RMC or IMC requires only 150 mm (6 in.).

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
RMC under a one- and two-family dwelling drivewayvsRMC in "all locations not specified" in Table 300.5(A)

A dwelling driveway is a specified location requiring 450 mm (18 in.) minimum cover for RMC (same as direct-burial cable there), whereas the 150 mm (6 in.) RMC figure applies only to locations not specified; under general streets, highways, roads, alleys, driveways and parking lots all wiring methods need 600 mm (24 in.).

NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Straight pull box (314.28(A)(1))vsAngle or U pull box (314.28(A)(2))

For conductors 4 AWG or larger, a straight pull box length shall not be less than eight times the trade size of the largest raceway, while for angle or U pulls the distance from each raceway entry to the opposite wall shall not be less than six times the trade size of the largest raceway, increased by the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall.

NEC 2023 Section 314.28(A)(1)
14 AWG conductor volume allowancevs12 AWG conductor volume allowance

Box-fill volume allowance is 32.8 cm³ (2.00 in.³) per 14 AWG conductor versus 36.9 cm³ (2.25 in.³) per 12 AWG conductor.

NEC 2023 Table 314.16(B)(1)
Boxes in wet locationsvsBoxes in damp locations

Boxes, conduit bodies, outlet box hoods and fittings installed in wet locations shall be listed for use in wet locations, while in damp locations they need only be placed or equipped to prevent moisture from entering or accumulating.

NEC 2023 Section 314.15
Motor branch-circuit conductors (430.22)vsMotor feeder conductors (430.24)

Branch-circuit conductors must have an ampacity of not less than 125% of that motor's full-load current, while feeder conductors must have an ampacity of not less than 125% of the largest motor's FLC plus the sum of the FLCs of the other motors.

NEC 2023 Section 430.22, Table 430.248
Hermetic motor-compressor conductors (440.32)vsHermetic motor-compressor branch-circuit short-circuit/ground-fault OCPD (440.22(A))

Conductors require an ampacity of at least 125% of the rated-load current, while the protective device is permitted at a rating up to 175% of the RLA (increased to not more than 225% of RLA only if the device cannot carry the motor's starting current).

NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
440.22(A) in NEC 2023 and 2026vs440.22(A) in NEC 2017 and 2020

The 2023/2026 editions include Exception No. 1 permitting the next higher standard rating when 175% of RLA is not a standard size (e.g., 52.5 A → 60 A), while the 2017/2020 editions have no such exception so the device may not exceed the calculated value (e.g., a 50 A device for 52.5 A).

NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
Motor control circuit tapped from the load side of the motor branch-circuit protective devicevsMotor control circuit supplied from a separate source

A tapped control circuit is protected per 430.72, while a control circuit other than such a tapped circuit shall be protected against overcurrent in accordance with 724.43 (Class 1 power-limited rules) or the notes to Chapter 9 Table 11(A) and Table 11(B), as applicable.

NEC 2023 Section 430.72(A)
Ungrounded conductors in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire systemvsGrounded (neutral) conductor in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire system

Line one is black and line two is red for the ungrounded conductors, while the grounded neutral conductor is white or gray per 200.6(A).

Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Common Electrical Distribution Systems, Page 13 (2020 ed.: Common Electrical Distribution Systems)
7–9 current-carrying conductors in a raceway or cablevs10–20 current-carrying conductors in a raceway or cable

Per Table 310.15(C)(1) the ampacity adjustment factor is 70 percent for 7–9 conductors and 50 percent for 10–20 conductors (4–6 conductors use 80 percent).

NEC 2023 Table 310.15(C)(1)

Key Terms

Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) NEC 2023 Section 90.4(B)
Per NEC 90.4, the authority having jurisdiction for enforcement of the Code has the responsibility for making interpretations of the rules, deciding on the approval of equipment and materials, and granting special permission contemplated in a number of the rules.
Arrangement of the NEC NEC 2023 Section 90.3
Per NEC 90.3, the Code is divided into an introduction and nine chapters: Chapters 1–4 apply generally, Chapters 5–7 apply to special conditions, Chapter 8 covers communications, and Chapter 9 consists of tables.
Installations not covered by the NEC NEC 2023 Section 90.2(D)
Per Article 90, the Code does not cover installations in ships, watercraft other than floating buildings, railway rolling stock, aircraft, or automotive vehicles other than mobile homes and recreational vehicles.
Bored holes, notches, and parallel runs in wood members (300.4(A), 300.4(D)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(1)
Holes shall be bored so the edge of the hole is not less than 32 mm (1¼ in.) from the edge of the wood member — the same 32 mm (1¼ in.) clearance applies to cables/raceways run parallel to framing members where nails or screws are likely to penetrate — and where that distance cannot be maintained, or where cables or raceways are laid in notches, a steel plate at least 1.6 mm (1/16 in.) thick (not 2.0 mm) of appropriate length and width shall protect against nail or screw penetration.
Free conductor length (300.14) NEC 2023 Section 300.14
At least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from the point in the box where it emerges from its raceway or cable sheath, shall be left at each outlet, junction, and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Stranded conductors in raceways (310.3(C)) NEC 2023 Section 310.3(C)
Where installed in raceways, conductors 8 AWG and larger shall be stranded unless specifically permitted or required elsewhere in the Code to be solid.
Array boundary (PV rapid shutdown, 690.12(B)) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
The array boundary for rapid shutdown purposes is 305 mm (1 ft) from the array in all directions; controlled conductors outside that boundary and more than 1 m (3 ft) from the array, or inside a building, shall be limited to not more than 30 volts within 30 seconds of rapid shutdown initiation.
Main bonding jumper / system bonding jumper that is a screw only (250.28(B)) NEC 2023 Section 250.28(B)
If the main or system bonding jumper is a screw only, the screw shall be identified with a green finish that is visible with the screw installed.
Optional calculation for a dwelling unit (220.82(A)) NEC 2023 Section 220.82(A)
The optional calculation applies to a dwelling unit having its total connected load served by a single 120/240-volt or 208Y/120-volt set of 3-wire service or feeder conductors with an ampacity of 100 or greater.
Receptacle outlet load (220.14(I)) NEC 2023 Section 220.14(I)
Receptacle outlets shall be calculated at not less than 180 volt-amperes for each single or for each multiple receptacle on one yoke, so each duplex receptacle counts as 180 VA.
Device or equipment (yoke) box fill (314.16(B)(4)) NEC 2023 Section 314.16(B)(4)
For each yoke or strap containing one or more devices or equipment, a double volume allowance per Table 314.16(B)(1) shall be made, based on the largest conductor connected to a device or equipment supported by that yoke or strap.
Nonmetallic-sheathed cable entry into a box (314.17(B)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 314.17(B)(2)
Where cable assemblies with nonmetallic sheaths are used, the sheath shall extend not less than 6 mm (1/4 in.) inside the box and 6 mm (1/4 in.) beyond the end of any cable clamp.
Wet location — raceway interior (300.9) NEC 2023 Section 300.9
Where raceways are installed in wet locations above grade, the interior of those raceways shall be considered a wet location, and insulated conductors and cables in them shall comply with 310.10(C).
One-family dwelling service disconnecting means rating (230.79(C)) NEC 2023 Section 230.79(C)
For a one-family dwelling, the service disconnecting means shall have a rating of not less than 100 amperes, 3-wire.
Basis of Table 310.16 ampacities NEC 2023 Section 310.16
Ampacities in Table 310.16 are based on a 30°C (86°F) ambient temperature; for other ambient temperatures, correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1) must be applied.
Retail occupancy general lighting unit load (Table 220.42(A)) NEC 2023 Table 220.42(A)
Retail occupancies have a unit load of 1.9 volt-amperes per square foot, and per the Note to Table 220.42(A) the 125 percent continuous-load multiplier is already included, so no additional multiplier is required.

Formulas to Know

Ohm's Law and power relationships (Ugly's, Ohm's Law page)I = W ÷ E (1500 W ÷ 120 V = 12.5 A); R = E ÷ I (240 V ÷ 8 A = 30 Ω); E = I × R (10 A × 12 Ω = 120 V); P = E × I; P = E² ÷ R (240² ÷ 20 Ω = 2880 W)
Minimum conductor ampacity for continuous loads (feeders 215.2(A)(1), service-entrance 230.42(A)(1))Minimum ampacity = noncontinuous load + (125% × continuous load); examples: 80 A + (1.25 × 60 A) = 155 A, and (1.25 × 100 A) + 30 A = 155 A
Minimum branch-circuit OCPD rating for continuous loads (210.20(A))OCPD rating shall not be less than 125% of the continuous load; example: 16 A × 1.25 = 20 A minimum
Three-phase kilowatts (Ugly's)kW = (E × I × PF × 1.73) ÷ 1000; example: (460 × 52 × 0.80 × 1.73) ÷ 1000 ≈ 33 kW (1.73 = √3 used in all three-phase formulas)
Three-phase amperes when horsepower is known (Ugly's)I = (HP × 746) ÷ (E × %EFF × PF × 1.73)
Pull/junction box sizing for conductors 4 AWG or larger (314.28(A))Straight pull: length ≥ 8 × trade size of largest raceway (8 × 3 in. = 24 in. / 610 mm). Angle or U pull: distance from each raceway entry to opposite wall ≥ 6 × trade size of largest raceway, plus the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall (6 × 3 in. = 18 in. + 2 in. = 20 in.)
Motor branch-circuit conductor ampacity (430.22)Minimum ampacity = 125% × motor FLC from the FLC tables; examples: 5-HP, 230 V, 1-phase (Table 430.248 = 28 A) → 28 × 1.25 = 35 A; 50-HP, 480 V, 3-phase (65 A) → 65 × 1.25 = 81.25 A
Motor feeder conductor ampacity (430.24)Minimum ampacity = (125% × largest motor FLC) + sum of the FLCs of the other motors; example with 50-HP (65 A) and 30-HP (40 A) at 480 V 3-phase: (1.25 × 65) + 40 = 121.25 A
Nontime-delay fuse for motor branch-circuit short-circuit/ground-fault protection (Table 430.52)Maximum = 300% of full-load current for AC polyphase motors; example: 50-HP, 480 V, 3-phase Design B (Table 430.250 = 65 A) → 3.00 × 65 = 195 A, and per 430.52(C)(1) Exception No. 1 the next standard size from Table 240.6 (200 A) is permitted
Non-dwelling receptacle load demand factors (Table 220.47)First 10 kVA at 100% + remainder over 10 kVA at 50%; example with 18 kVA: 10,000 VA + (0.50 × 8,000 VA) = 14,000 VA