Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
100
Passing score
75%
Exam time
300 min
Administered by
Pearson Vue
Format
Reference materials allowed
Wyoming State Portion
100 questions
General Knowledge12 Q · 12%
Electrical Theory and General Electrical Load CalculationsCode Definitions and TermsPlan ReadingAC circuit concepts: impedance, reactance, inductance, and capacitance calculationsPower factor, apparent power (kVA), and power factor correctionKirchhoff's Current and Voltage LawsCommon electrical distribution systems and conductor color codingNEC scope, arrangement, and enforcement (Article 90)Electrical symbols and wiring diagram interpretationUnits of measurement, metric system, and engineering conversionsApplied math for electricians: fractions, equations, trigonometry, and geometric formulas
Services and Service Equipment16 Q · 16%
Services and Fault CurrentService Load CalculationsService Equipment & Service ConductorsTransformersSystem Grounding and BondingTemporary Service WiringOverhead and underground service conductor requirements and clearancesService disconnecting means requirements and ratingsGround-fault protection of equipment at servicesSurge-protective devices (SPDs) at service equipmentGrounding electrode types, installation, and system requirementsEquipment grounding conductor types, sizing, and identification+2 more
Feeders4 Q · 4%
Load CalculationsEquipment GroundingMinimum feeder conductor ampacity and sizing (Article 215.2)Feeder overcurrent protection requirements (Article 215.3)Ground-fault protection of equipment for feeders (Article 215.10)Feeder conductor identification — grounded, ungrounded, and EGC (Article 215.12)Surge-protective device requirements for feeders (Articles 215.18 and 225.42)Outside feeder disconnecting means — location, rating, and number (Article 225.31–225.39)Feeder neutral load calculations and permitted reductions (Article 220.61)Common neutral conductors and feeders with shared neutral (Article 215.4)
Branch Circuits and Conductors16 Q · 16%
Branch Circuit CalculationOvercurrent ProtectionConductorsRequired Outlets & GFCI/AFCI ProtectionEquipment GroundingVoltage Drop Calculations (Single-Phase and Three-Phase)Ampacity Correction and Adjustment Factors (Temperature and Conductor Count)Conductor Insulation Types, Temperature Ratings, and Permitted UsesMultiwire Branch Circuit RequirementsBranch Circuit Voltage Limitations and Permissible LoadsGrounded Conductor Identification and UseGrounding Electrode System and Electrode Types+1 more
Wiring Methods and Materials19 Q · 19%
Raceway InstallationsUnderground Wiring MethodsBoxes and EnclosuresCabinets, Panelboards, & SwitchboardsClearance and GuardingFlexible Cords and CablesCable Wiring Methods (NM, MC, AC, MI, SE, UF, TC, ITC, FC, FCC, IGS, Type P)Conductor Fill and Conduit Sizing CalculationsConduit Bending Techniques and CalculationsProtection of Cables and Raceways Against Physical DamageGeneral Wiring Requirements for Conductors of the Same Circuit and Different SystemsCable Tray Systems+2 more
Equipment and Devices10 Q · 10%
LuminairesReceptacles, Switches and Other DevicesAppliances and Other EquipmentOther Utilization EquipmentHeating and Cooling EquipmentFixture Wire Types, Ampacities, and Minimum Size RequirementsLuminaire Installation in Specific Locations (wet, damp, closets, bathtub/shower zones)Recessed Luminaire Clearances, Thermal Protection, and Type IC RequirementsLighting Track Installation Requirements and RestrictionsLow-Voltage Lighting System Voltage Limitations and Secondary Circuit RequirementsNEMA Receptacle Configurations and Wiring DiagramsDisconnecting Means for Fixed Electric Space-Heating and Industrial Process Heating Equipment+1 more
Control Devices3 Q · 3%
Switches, Disconnects and ControllersMotor Controller Ratings and MarkingsMotor Control Circuit Overcurrent Protection and WiringMotor Disconnecting Means RequirementsMotor Overload Protection Devices and SettingsMotor Control Centers Installation and Overcurrent ProtectionStop-Start and Jogging Control Circuit ConfigurationsIndustrial Control Panel Requirements and MarkingsClass 1, Class 2, and Class 4 Power-Limited Remote-Control Circuits
Motors and Generators8 Q · 8%
MotorsGeneratorsMotor branch-circuit conductor sizing and ampacityMotor overload protection requirements and ratingsMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device ratingsMotor disconnecting means requirements and ratingsMotor controllers: ratings, types, and marking requirementsMotor control circuits and motor control centersGenerator installation, marking, overcurrent protection, and disconnecting meansPhase converters and capacitors in motor circuits
Special Occupancies, Equipment, and Conditions12 Q · 12%
Special OccupanciesSwimming Pools and Similar InstallationsMobile Home and RV ParksData Processing EquipmentMiscellaneous Special EquipmentEmergency SystemsSignaling and Fire Alarm SystemsHazardous Location Classification (Classes, Divisions, and Zones)Wiring Methods and Equipment for Hazardous LocationsIntrinsically Safe Systems and Associated ApparatusHealth Care Facility Wiring, Grounding, and Essential Electrical SystemsSolar PV, Wind, Fuel Cell, and Energy Storage Systems+3 more
Mandatory rules are characterized by 'shall' or 'shall not', while permissive rules use 'shall be permitted' or 'shall not be required'.
NEC 2023 Section 90.5(A) and 90.5(B)
Series circuit currentvsParallel circuit current
In a series circuit the total current equals the current in any other part of the circuit (IT = I1 = I2 = I3), whereas in a parallel circuit the total current equals the sum of the branch currents.
Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Series Circuits, Page 3 (2020 ed.: Series Circuits)
Cover for direct-buried cable/RMC under a one- and two-family dwelling drivewayvsCover in 'all locations not specified' in Table 300.5(A)
Under a one- and two-family dwelling driveway or outdoor parking area used only for dwelling purposes the minimum cover is 450 mm (18 in.) for both direct-burial cable and RMC, while in all locations not specified the minimum is 600 mm (24 in.) for direct-buried cable and 150 mm (6 in.) for RMC/IMC (general streets, highways, roads, alleys, driveways and parking lots require 600 mm / 24 in. for all wiring methods).
NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Straight pull box sizing (314.28(A)(1))vsAngle or U pull box sizing (314.28(A)(2))
For conductors 4 AWG or larger, straight pulls require box length not less than eight times the trade size of the largest raceway, while angle or U pulls require the distance from each raceway entry to the opposite wall to be not less than six times the trade size of the largest raceway (increased by the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall).
NEC 2023 Section 314.28(A)(1)
Motor control circuit tapped from the load side of the motor branch-circuit protective devicevsMotor control circuit supplied from a separate source
The tapped control circuit is protected per 430.72, while a control circuit other than such a tapped circuit must be protected against overcurrent in accordance with 724.43 or the notes to Chapter 9 Table 11(A) and Table 11(B), as applicable.
NEC 2023 Section 430.72(A)
Box-fill volume allowance for 14 AWGvsBox-fill volume allowance for 12 AWG
Each 14 AWG conductor requires 32.8 cm³ (2.00 in.³) while each 12 AWG conductor requires 36.9 cm³ (2.25 in.³).
NEC 2023 Table 314.16(B)(1)
Elevator raceway conductor fill (620.33)vsGeneral wiring fill (Chapter 9, Table 1)
In elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional areas of the individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway's interior cross-sectional area, a special provision that differs from the standard Chapter 9, Table 1 fill percentages for general wiring.
Conductors must have an ampacity of at least 125% of the rated-load current, while the short-circuit/ground-fault protective device is permitted to be rated up to a maximum of 175% of the RLA (increasable to not more than 225% of RLA only if needed to carry starting current).
NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
Installations covered by the NECvsInstallations not covered by the NEC (90.2)
The Code does not cover ships, watercraft other than floating buildings, railway rolling stock, aircraft, or automotive vehicles, but it does cover mobile homes and recreational vehicles.
NEC 2023 Section 90.2(D)
Standard ampere ratings for both fuses and inverse time circuit breakersvsAdditional standard ratings for fuses only
The ratings in Table 240.6(A) apply to both fuses and inverse time circuit breakers, while 1, 3, 6, and 601 amperes are additional standard ampere ratings for fuses only.
NEC 2023 Section 240.6(A) and Table 240.6(A)
Ungrounded conductors in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire systemvsGrounded neutral conductor in that system
Line one is black and line two is red for the ungrounded conductors, while the grounded neutral conductor is white or gray (per NEC 200.6(A)).
Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Common Electrical Distribution Systems, Page 13 (2020 ed.: Common Electrical Distribution Systems)
Motor branch-circuit conductor sizing (430.22)vsMotor feeder conductor sizing (430.24)
Branch-circuit conductors must be not less than 125% of that motor's full-load current, while feeder conductors must be not less than 125% of the largest motor's FLC plus the sum of the FLCs of the other motors.
NEC 2023 Section 430.22, Table 430.248
Key Terms
Authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) NEC 2023 Section 90.4(B)
Per NEC 90.4, the authority having jurisdiction for enforcement of the Code has the responsibility for making interpretations of the rules, deciding on approval of equipment and materials, and granting special permission contemplated in a number of the rules.
Purpose of the NEC (90.1(A)) NEC 2023 Section 90.1(A)
The Code's purpose is the practical safeguarding of persons and property from hazards arising from the use of electricity; it is not intended as a design specification or an instruction manual for untrained persons.
Arrangement of the Code (90.3) NEC 2023 Section 90.3
The NEC is divided into an introduction and nine chapters: Chapters 1-4 apply generally, Chapters 5-7 apply to special conditions, Chapter 8 covers communications, and Chapter 9 consists of tables.
Free conductor length (300.14) NEC 2023 Section 300.14
At least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from where it emerges from the raceway or cable sheath in the box, shall be left at each outlet, junction, and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Bored-hole clearance in wood members (300.4(A)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(1)
Holes shall be bored so the edge of the hole is not less than 32 mm (1 1/4 in.) from the edges of the wood member; where that distance cannot be maintained, the cable or raceway shall be protected from screws or nails by a steel plate.
Steel plate protection at notches (300.4(A)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(2)
Cables or raceways laid in notches in wood members shall be protected from nail or screw penetration by a steel plate at least 1.6 mm (1/16 in.) thick of appropriate length and width covering the wiring area.
Stranded conductors in raceways (310.3(C)) NEC 2023 Section 310.3(C)
Where installed in raceways, conductors 8 AWG and larger shall be stranded unless specifically permitted or required elsewhere in the Code to be solid.
Table 310.16 ampacity basis NEC 2023 Section 310.16
Ampacities in Table 310.16 are based on a 30°C (86°F) ambient temperature, with correction factors from Table 310.15(B)(1)(1) applied for other ambient temperatures.
Type THHN maximum operating temperature NEC 2023 Table 310.4(1)
Per Table 310.4(1), Type THHN conductors have a maximum operating temperature of 90°C (194°F) in dry and damp locations.
Conductor size marking interval (310.8(B)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 310.8(B)(1)
The AWG size or circular mil area shall be repeated at intervals not exceeding 610 mm (24 in.) on single-conductor and multiconductor thermoset and thermoplastic-insulated wire and cable.
Device (yoke) fill allowance (314.16(B)(4)) NEC 2023 Section 314.16(B)(4)
For each yoke or strap containing one or more devices or equipment, a double volume allowance per Table 314.16(B)(1) is made, based on the largest conductor connected to a device or equipment supported by that yoke or strap.
Field-installed drainage openings (314.15) NEC 2023 Section 314.15
Approved drainage openings not smaller than 3 mm (1/8 in.) and not larger than 6 mm (1/4 in.) in diameter are permitted to be installed in the field in boxes or conduit bodies listed for damp or wet locations.
Nonmetallic sheath entry into a box (314.17(B)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 314.17(B)(2)
Where cable assemblies with nonmetallic sheaths are used, the sheath shall extend not less than 6 mm (1/4 in.) inside the box and 6 mm (1/4 in.) beyond the end of any cable clamp.
Main bonding jumper / system bonding jumper screw (250.28(B)) NEC 2023 Section 250.28(B)
If the main or system bonding jumper is a screw only, the screw shall be identified with a green finish that is visible with the screw installed.
Array boundary for PV rapid shutdown (690.12(B)) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
The array boundary is defined as 305 mm (1 ft) from the array in all directions; controlled conductors outside this boundary and more than 1 m (3 ft) from the array, or inside a building, shall be limited to not more than 30 volts within 30 seconds of rapid shutdown initiation.
Optional calculation for a dwelling unit (220.82(A)) NEC 2023 Section 220.82(A)
The optional calculation applies to a dwelling unit having its total connected load served by a single 120/240-volt or 208Y/120-volt set of 3-wire service or feeder conductors with an ampacity of 100 or greater.
Formulas to Know
Ohm's Law and power relationshipsI = W ÷ E (1500 W ÷ 120 V = 12.5 A); R = E ÷ I (240 V ÷ 8 A = 30 Ω); E = I × R (10 A × 12 Ω = 120 V); P = E × I; P = E² ÷ R (240² ÷ 20 Ω = 2880 W); R = E² ÷ P (14,400 ÷ 1200 W = 12 Ω)
Three-phase power and current (Ugly's)KW = (E × I × PF × 1.73) ÷ 1000 — e.g., (460 × 52 × 0.80 × 1.73) ÷ 1000 ≈ 33 kW; I = (KW × 1000) ÷ (E × PF × 1.73); 1.73 (√3) is the three-phase multiplier accounting for the 120-degree phase relationship.
Minimum feeder / service-entrance conductor ampacity with continuous load (215.2(A)(1); 230.42(A)(1))Ampacity ≥ noncontinuous load + 125% of continuous load — e.g., 80 A + (60 A × 1.25) = 155 A; (100 A × 125%) + 30 A = 155 A.
Minimum branch-circuit OCPD rating for continuous load (210.20(A))OCPD rating ≥ 125% of the continuous load — e.g., 16 A × 1.25 = 20 A minimum.
Motor branch-circuit conductor ampacity (430.22)Ampacity ≥ 125% of motor FLC from Table 430.248/430.250 — e.g., 5 HP, 230 V, 1-phase: 28 A × 1.25 = 35 A; 50 HP, 480 V, 3-phase: 65 A × 1.25 = 81.25 A.
Motor feeder conductor ampacity (430.24)Ampacity ≥ (125% × largest motor FLC) + sum of other motor FLCs — e.g., 50 HP (65 A) + 30 HP (40 A) at 460 V: (1.25 × 65) + 40 = 121.25 A.
Nontime delay fuse for motor branch-circuit short-circuit/ground-fault protection (Table 430.52, 430.52(C)(1))Max fuse = 300% of FLC for AC polyphase motors; if not a standard size, 430.52(C)(1) Ex. 1 permits the next standard size — e.g., 50 HP, 460 V (65 A): 3.00 × 65 = 195 A → 200 A.
Hermetic motor-compressor branch circuit (440.32, 440.22(A))Conductors ≥ 125% of RLA (30 A × 1.25 = 37.5 A; 20 A × 1.25 = 25 A); OCPD not more than 175% of RLA (30 A × 1.75 = 52.5 A; 20 A × 1.75 = 35 A); in NEC 2023/2026, 440.22(A) Ex. 1 permits the next higher standard rating (60 A), while NEC 2017/2020 have no such exception (50 A); if the device won't carry starting current, it may be increased to not more than 225% of RLA (67.5 A → 60 A).
Pull/junction box sizing for conductors 4 AWG or larger (314.28)Straight pulls: length ≥ 8 × trade size of largest raceway (8 × 3 in. = 24 in.). Angle or U pulls: distance from each raceway entry to opposite wall ≥ 6 × trade size of largest raceway, plus the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall (6 × 3 = 18 in. + 2 in. = 20 in.).
Ampacity adjustment for more than three current-carrying conductors (Table 310.15(C)(1))4-6 conductors = 80%; 7-9 conductors = 70%; 10-20 conductors = 50% of the values in the ampacity tables.