Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
100
Passing score
75%
Exam time
300 min
Administered by
Prov
Format
Reference materials allowed
Alabama State Portion
100 questions
Interpreting Plans & Specifications6 Q · 6%
Electrical symbols for outlets, switches, and lighting fixturesElectrical symbols for wiring, connections, and panel componentsNEMA configuration wiring diagrams and receptacle identificationMiscellaneous wiring diagrams for three-way and four-way switch circuitsMetric designator and trade sizes for conduitU.S. and metric unit conversions for linear, area, and weight measurementsDecimal and fraction equivalents for measurementsElectrical SymbolsWiring Diagrams for NEMA ConfigurationsMetric Designator and Trade Sizes
Basic Electrical Safety8 Q · 8%
Electrical hazards: shock, electrocution, arc flash, and arc blastLockout/tagout procedures and establishing an electrically safe work conditionArc flash risk assessment and shock risk assessmentShock protection boundaries: limited approach and restricted approachPersonal protective equipment selection and arc flash PPE categoriesEnergized electrical work permitsEmployer and employee responsibilities for electrical safetyArc flash equipment labels and incident energy informationOSHA construction electrical requirements (29 CFR 1926 Subpart K): GFCI protection, assured equipment grounding, temporary wiringLadders, scaffolds, fall protection, and confined spaces for electrical work (29 CFR 1926 Subparts L, M, X, AA)Subpart K—ElectricalSubpart M—Fall Protection+1 more
Electrical Theory and Principles10 Q · 10%
Ohm's Law and Watt's Law formulas and calculationsSeries, parallel, and combination circuit analysisAlternating current fundamentals: sine waves, frequency, and waveform values (peak, RMS, instantaneous)Power factor, true power, and apparent power (VA) calculationsInductance, capacitance, inductive reactance, and capacitive reactanceImpedance calculations in AC circuitsAtomic structure, electron theory, conductors, semiconductors, and insulatorsElectrical power calculations: kilowatts, kVA, horsepower, and efficiency
Testing and Troubleshooting7 Q · 7%
Selecting and using test instruments (multimeters, clamp-on ammeters, non-contact voltage testers)Test instrument safety ratings and overvoltage categories (CAT I–IV)Verifying absence of voltage and operation verification procedures (NFPA 70E 110.6, 120.6)Wire resistance and voltage drop calculations using Ohm's Law and NEC Chapter 9 tablesContinuity, insulation-resistance, and voltage testing with the appropriate test instrumentSelecting and Using Test InstrumentsGeneral Requirements for Electrical Safety-Related Work PracticesEstablishing an Electrically Safe Work ConditionWire Resistance and Voltage DropMultiwire Circuits
General Code Requirements15 Q · 15%
Purpose and scope of the NEC (practical safeguarding, what is and is not covered)Authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) roles, approval, listing, and labeling of equipmentKey NEC definitions and field terms versus NEC terms (Article 100 terminology)Working space and clearance requirements around electrical equipment (depth, width, height, conditions 1-2-3)Guarding of live parts and minimum clearance of live parts (elevation, enclosure types, warning signs)Electrical connections, conductor materials, splices, terminals, and temperature limitationsEquipment markings, arc-flash hazard warnings, and identification of disconnecting meansRequirements for Electrical InstallationsDefinitions
Wiring and Protection18 Q · 18%
Branch circuit ratings, conductor sizing, and load limits (Article 210)Feeder conductor sizing and overcurrent protection requirements (Article 215)Service conductor requirements, clearances, and wiring methods (Article 230)Grounding electrode system types, installation, and sizing (Article 250 Part III)Equipment grounding conductors and bonding jumper sizing and methods (Article 250 Parts IV-V)Overcurrent protective device types, ratings, and locations (Article 240)GFCI, AFCI, and ground-fault protection of equipment requirementsSurge-protective devices (SPDs) and surge arrester installation and ratings (Article 242)
Selects and Installs Cabinets, Boxes, Fittings, Conduit16 Q · 16%
Conduit fill calculations and conductor count limits (NEC Chapter 9 Table 1 percentages)Box fill calculations and volume requirements per conductor (NEC 314.16)Cabinet and cutout box installation requirements including wire-bending space and gutter widthConduit bending methods — 90° stubs, offsets, saddle bends, back-to-back, and multi-shot bendsSecuring and supporting requirements for conduit types (RMC, IMC, EMT, PVC, FMC, LFMC, LFNC)Selection of conduit type by application — permitted and not permitted uses for metallic and nonmetallic racewaysUnderground installation requirements including minimum cover depths by wiring methodCable wiring methods — permitted uses, securing intervals, and fitting requirements for NM, MC, AC, SE, UF, and other cable types
Equipment for General Use10 Q · 10%
Motor branch-circuit conductor sizing and ampacity requirementsMotor overload protection selection and ratingsMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device maximum ratingsMotor controllers: marking, ratings, and disconnecting meansTransformer overcurrent protection, sizing, and calculationsLuminaire installation requirements and location restrictionsReceptacle ratings, grounding types, and replacement requirementsSwitchboards, switchgear, and panelboard installation and labeling
Special Occupancies and Special Equipment8 Q · 8%
Hazardous location classification — Class I, II, and III Divisions and Zone systemsWiring methods and sealing requirements for hazardous (classified) locationsHealth care facility wiring, grounding, and essential electrical systemsSwimming pools, fountains, spas, and similar installations — GFCI protection, bonding, and equipotential planesSolar PV systems, wind electric systems, and fuel cell systems installation requirementsElevators, escalators, cranes, hoists, and similar lifting equipment electrical requirementsMobile homes, manufactured homes, recreational vehicles, and park trailers electrical supply and wiringSpecial occupancy installations — marinas, agricultural buildings, theaters, assembly occupancies, motor fuel dispensing facilities, and temporary installations
Special Conditions and Communication Systems2 Q · 2%
Fire alarm system wiring methods — NPLFA and PLFA circuits (NEC Article 760)Fire alarm cable types, listings, and substitution hierarchy (FPLP, FPLR, FPL, NPLFP, NPLFR, NPLF)Fire alarm system power sources, branch circuit requirements, and overcurrent protectionNFPA 72 initiating devices — heat detectors, smoke detectors, and manual fire alarm boxes (selection, spacing, and location)NFPA 72 notification appliances — audible and visual requirements, public and private mode, sleeping areaEmergency communications systems (ECS) — one-way and two-way systems, in-building EVACS, mass notification, and area of refugeSupervising station alarm systems — central station service, signal disposition, and record keeping (NFPA 72 Ch. 26)Emergency and legally required standby system wiring, transfer equipment, and testing requirements (NEC Articles 700 and 701)Communications circuits, antenna systems, and CATV/broadband installation, grounding, and bonding (NEC Chapter 8)Chapter 17 Initiating DevicesChapter 18 Notification Appliances
Key Distinctions
Soft conversionvsHard conversion
Soft conversion is a direct mathematical conversion that changes the description of an existing measurement but not the actual dimension, while hard conversion is a change in dimensions or properties into new sizes that might not be interchangeable with the original sizes.
NEC 2023 Section 90.9(D) Informational Note No. 1
Capacitors at service equipment or panelsvsCapacitors at the individual loads
Capacitors at service equipment/panels are primarily intended to reduce utility power factor penalties, while capacitors at the individual loads are what reduce circuit current, voltage drop, and wire power losses.
Mike Holt's Understanding Electrical Theory for NEC Applications, Page 153
Elevator raceway conductor fill (Article 620)vsGeneral raceway fill (Chapter 9, Table 1)
In elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional area of individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway interior area, whereas general wiring uses Chapter 9 Table 1, which allows a maximum of 40 percent fill for 3 or more conductors.
NEC 2023 Section 620.33
Direct-buried cables/conductors — minimum covervsRigid metal conduit or IMC — minimum cover
In all locations not specified elsewhere in Table 300.5(A), direct-buried cables or conductors require a minimum cover of 600 mm (24 in.), while RMC or IMC requires a minimum cover of 150 mm (6 in.).
NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
RMC under a one- and two-family dwelling drivewayvsRMC in 'all locations not specified' in Table 300.5(A)
A dwelling driveway is a specified location requiring a minimum cover of 450 mm (18 in.) for RMC, while the 150 mm (6 in.) RMC figure applies only to locations not otherwise specified.
NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Overhead service conductor clearance over public streets/alleysvsOverhead service conductor clearance over residential property and driveways
For conductors not exceeding 1000 volts nominal, the minimum clearance is 5.5 m (18 ft) over public streets, alleys, roads, and parking areas subject to truck traffic, but 3.7 m (12 ft) over residential property and driveways (and commercial areas not subject to truck traffic) where voltage does not exceed 300 volts to ground.
NEC 2023 Section 230.24(B)
Energized electrical work permit, Part IvsEnergized electrical work permit, Part II
In the NFPA 70E 2024 Annex J Figure J.1 sample permit, Part I is completed by the requester (description of circuit/equipment and job location, work to be done, and justification for not de-energizing), while Part II items — risk assessment results, safe work practices, and means of restricting access — are completed by the electrically qualified persons.
NFPA 70E 2024, Informative Annex J, Figure J.1
BuswayvsCable tray system
Article 100 defines a busway as a raceway consisting of a metal enclosure containing factory-mounted bare or insulated conductors, whereas a cable tray system is a structural support system for cables and raceways and is not itself a raceway.
NEC 2023 Article 100 — Definitions of Raceway, Busway, Cable Tray System, Lighting Track, and Multioutlet Assembly
Switch symbol S with subscript 2vsSwitch symbol S with subscript 3
S2 designates a double-pole switch, while S3 designates a three-way switch (S with no subscript is single-pole and S4 is four-way).
Commercial garage area up to 450 mm (18 in.) above floor WITH ventilationvsSame area WITHOUT adequate ventilation
Per Table 511.3(C) the area up to 450 mm (18 in.) above floor level is unclassified when mechanical ventilation provides at least 0.3 m³/min/m² (1 cfm/ft²) of floor area with exhaust taken within 300 mm (12 in.) of the floor, but is a Class I, Division 2 location in major repair garages when adequate ventilation is not provided.
An average ambient sound level greater than 105 dBA (18.4.1.1) requires visual notification appliances per Section 18.5 or 18.6, while 110 dBA (18.4.1.2) is the maximum combined total sound pressure level permitted at the minimum hearing distance.
NFPA 72 - National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code 2022, Chapter 18 — 18.4.1 Audible Characteristics, General Requirements
Both lockout and tagout devices must be standardized within the facility in at least one of color, shape, or size; tagout devices must additionally have standardized print and format (attachment strength of no less than 50 pounds is a separate 'substantial' requirement, not a standardization criterion).
29 CFR 1910 - OSHA Occupational Safety and Health Standards (General Industry), § 1910.147(c)(5)(ii)(B), Page 505
Key Terms
Cable Bundle NEC 2023 Article 100 — definition of "Cable Bundle"
A group of cables tied together or in contact with one another in a closely packed configuration for at least 1.0 m (40 in.); shorter lengths of contact do not meet the defined threshold.
Cable, Medium Voltage (Type MV) NEC 2023 Article 100 — Definition of 'Cable, Medium Voltage (Type MV)'
A single- or multiconductor solid dielectric insulated cable rated 2001 volts up to and including 35,000 volts, nominal (the 2001 to 25,000 volt range belongs to the separate portable power feeder cable definition).
Lighting track NEC 2023 Article 100 — Definitions of Raceway, Busway, Cable Tray System, Lighting Track, and Multioutlet Assembly
An assembly that supports and energizes luminaires; its track conductors must be a minimum 12 AWG and copper.
Multioutlet assembly NEC 2023 Article 100 — Definitions of Raceway, Busway, Cable Tray System, Lighting Track, and Multioutlet Assembly
An assemblage that contains a raceway but is not itself defined by the Code as a raceway.
The metric raceway size label paired with a trade size in Table 300.1(C) — trade size 1 1/2 is designator 41, trade size 2 is designator 53, trade size 2 1/2 is 63, and trade size 3 is 78.
Array boundary (PV rapid shutdown) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
For rapid shutdown purposes, the boundary defined as 305 mm (1 ft) from the PV array in all directions; controlled conductors outside this boundary and more than 1 m (3 ft) from the array, or inside a building, must be limited to not more than 30 volts within 30 seconds of rapid shutdown initiation.
The NFPA 70E 2024 Annex J Figure J.1 sample form whose Part I (requester) states the circuit/equipment and job location, work to be done, and justification why the circuit cannot be de-energized or the work deferred, and whose Part II (electrically qualified persons) covers risk assessment results, safe work practices, and access restriction means.
Optional calculation for a dwelling unit NEC 2023 Section 220.82(A)
Per 220.82(A), the optional method applies to a dwelling unit whose total connected load is served by a single 120/240-volt or 208Y/120-volt set of 3-wire service or feeder conductors with an ampacity of 100 or greater.
Conduit seal (Class I, Division 1) NEC 2023 Section 501.15(A)(1)
A sealing fitting installed within 450 mm (18 in.) of the explosionproof enclosure, or as required by the enclosure marking, with only threaded couplings or explosionproof fittings permitted between the seal and the enclosure.
Feeder tap, not over 10 ft (240.21(B)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 240.21(B)(1)
A tap in which, if the tap conductors leave the enclosure or vault where the tap is made, their ampacity must be not less than one-tenth of the rating of the overcurrent device protecting the feeder, and not less than the combined calculated loads.
Angle pull (box sizing, 314.28(A)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 314.28(A)(2)
A pull where the distance to the opposite wall must be not less than six times the trade size of the largest raceway, increased by the sum of the diameters of all other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall.
Wye-start, delta-run motor conductors NEC 2023 Section 430.22(C)
Conductors between the controller and the motor must have an ampacity not less than 72 percent of the motor full-load current rating (derived from 58% × 1.25).
Free conductor length NEC 2023 Section 300.14
At least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from the point in the box where it emerges from its raceway or cable sheath, left at each outlet, junction, and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Mobile home power-supply cord NEC 2023 Section 550.10(D)
A supply cord whose overall length, measured from the end of the cord including bared leads to the face of the attachment plug cap, shall be not less than 6.4 m (21 ft) and shall not exceed 11.0 m (36½ ft).
Feeder disconnecting means at a separate structure NEC 2023 Section 225.39(D)
Per 225.39(D), for installations other than one-circuit (minimum 15 A), two-circuit (minimum 30 A), or a one-family dwelling unit supply (minimum 100 A), the feeder or branch-circuit disconnecting means shall have a rating of not less than 60 amperes — e.g., a detached garage fed from a one-family dwelling with more than two circuits.
Elevator feeder demand factor (Table 620.14) NEC 2023 Table 620.14
A multiplier applied to elevator feeder conductor ampacity based on the number of elevators on a single feeder (1 = 1.00, 2 = 0.95, 3 = 0.90, 4 = 0.85, 5 = 0.82, 6 = 0.79, 7 = 0.77, 8 = 0.75, 9 = 0.73, 10 or more = 0.72), based on a 50 percent duty cycle.
Formulas to Know
Minimum feeder conductor ampacity with continuous loadsAmpacity ≥ noncontinuous load + (125% × continuous load); example: 80 A + (60 A × 1.25) = 80 + 75 = 155 A
Minimum branch-circuit overcurrent device rating for continuous loadsOCPD rating ≥ 125% of the continuous load; example: 16 A × 1.25 = 20 A minimum
Motor branch-circuit conductor ampacityAmpacity ≥ 125% of motor full-load current from the motor FLC table; example: 5 HP, 230 V, 1-phase = 28 A FLC → 28 × 1.25 = 35 A
Motor feeder conductor ampacity (multiple motors)Ampacity ≥ (125% × largest motor FLC) + sum of FLCs of the other motors; example: 50 HP @460V = 65 A and 30 HP @460V = 40 A → (1.25 × 65) + 40 = 81.25 + 40 = 121.25 A
Nontime delay fuse for branch-circuit short-circuit/ground-fault protection (AC polyphase motor)Maximum rating = 300% of FLC; where this does not correspond to a standard size, the next standard size is permitted; example: 50 HP, 460 V, 3-phase = 65 A FLC → 300% × 65 = 195 A → next standard size 200 A
Generator output conductor ampacityAmpacity ≥ 115% of the generator nameplate current rating; example: 200 A × 1.15 = 230 A minimum
Non-dwelling receptacle load demand (Table 220.47)First 10 kVA at 100% + remainder over 10 kVA at 50%; example: 18 kVA → 10,000 VA + (8,000 × 0.50 = 4,000 VA) = 14,000 VA
Three-phase power and apparent powerP = √3 × V × I × cos θ (V = line voltage, cos θ = power factor); apparent power S = P ÷ PF, e.g., 200 kW ÷ 0.8 = 250 kVA (with V and I held constant, increasing PF does not change apparent power)
Series-parallel resistance and total currentTwo resistors in parallel: Rp = (R1 × R2)/(R1 + R2); three or more: 1/Rp = 1/R1 + 1/R2 + 1/R3; add series resistors: RT = Rseries + Rp; then I = E ÷ RT (example: 5 Ω + [1/12+1/12+1/6 → 3 Ω] = 8 Ω, 32 V ÷ 8 Ω = 4 A); branch voltage = total current × that section's equivalent resistance
Power loss at a terminal / connectionP = I² × R; example: (25 A × 25 A) × 0.20 Ω = 625 × 0.20 = 125 W