South Dakota Electrical Contractor Exam (ICC 530, 2023 NEC)
South Dakota
· Pearson Vue
Verified, not estimated. Every figure below is drawn from the official exam structure we maintain — question counts, passing standard and topic weighting. Practice questions are grounded in the source law with statute citations. We omit any figure we can't verify rather than guess at it.
Total questions
100
Passing score
70%
Exam time
300 min
Administered by
Pearson Vue
Format
Reference materials allowed
South Dakota State Portion
100 questions
General Knowledge and Plan Reading12 Q · 12%
Electrical Theory and General Electrical Load CalculationsCode Definitions and TermsPlan ReadingAC circuit concepts: impedance, reactance, inductance, and capacitance calculationsPower factor, apparent power (kVA), and power factor correctionKirchhoff's Current and Voltage LawsCommon electrical distribution systems and conductor color codingNEC scope, arrangement, and enforcement (Article 90)Electrical symbols and wiring diagram interpretationUnits of measurement, metric system, and engineering conversionsApplied math for electricians: fractions, equations, trigonometry, and geometric formulas
Services and Service Equipment16 Q · 16%
Services and Fault CurrentService Load CalculationsService Equipment & Service ConductorsTransformersSystem Grounding and BondingTemporary Service WiringOverhead and underground service conductor requirements and clearancesService disconnecting means requirements and ratingsGround-fault protection of equipment at servicesSurge-protective devices (SPDs) at service equipmentGrounding electrode types, installation, and system requirementsEquipment grounding conductor types, sizing, and identification+2 more
Feeders4 Q · 4%
Load CalculationsEquipment GroundingMinimum feeder conductor ampacity and sizing (Article 215.2)Feeder overcurrent protection requirements (Article 215.3)Ground-fault protection of equipment for feeders (Article 215.10)Feeder conductor identification — grounded, ungrounded, and EGC (Article 215.12)Surge-protective device requirements for feeders (Articles 215.18 and 225.42)Outside feeder disconnecting means — location, rating, and number (Article 225.31–225.39)Feeder neutral load calculations and permitted reductions (Article 220.61)Common neutral conductors and feeders with shared neutral (Article 215.4)
Branch Circuits and Conductors16 Q · 16%
Branch Circuit CalculationOvercurrent ProtectionConductorsRequired Outlets & GFCI/AFCI ProtectionEquipment GroundingVoltage Drop Calculations (Single-Phase and Three-Phase)Ampacity Correction and Adjustment Factors (Temperature and Conductor Count)Conductor Insulation Types, Temperature Ratings, and Permitted UsesMultiwire Branch Circuit RequirementsBranch Circuit Voltage Limitations and Permissible LoadsGrounded Conductor Identification and UseGrounding Electrode System and Electrode Types+1 more
Wiring Methods and Materials19 Q · 19%
Raceway InstallationsUnderground Wiring MethodsBoxes and EnclosuresCabinets, Panelboards, & SwitchboardsClearance and GuardingFlexible Cords and CablesCable Wiring Methods (NM, MC, AC, MI, SE, UF, TC, ITC, FC, FCC, IGS, Type P)Conductor Fill and Conduit Sizing CalculationsConduit Bending Techniques and CalculationsProtection of Cables and Raceways Against Physical DamageGeneral Wiring Requirements for Conductors of the Same Circuit and Different SystemsCable Tray Systems+2 more
Equipment and Devices10 Q · 10%
LuminairesReceptacles, Switches and Other DevicesAppliances and Other EquipmentOther Utilization EquipmentHeating and Cooling EquipmentFixture Wire Types, Ampacities, and Minimum Size RequirementsLuminaire Installation in Specific Locations (wet, damp, closets, bathtub/shower zones)Recessed Luminaire Clearances, Thermal Protection, and Type IC RequirementsLighting Track Installation Requirements and RestrictionsLow-Voltage Lighting System Voltage Limitations and Secondary Circuit RequirementsNEMA Receptacle Configurations and Wiring DiagramsDisconnecting Means for Fixed Electric Space-Heating and Industrial Process Heating Equipment+1 more
Control Devices3 Q · 3%
Switches, Disconnects and ControllersMotor Controller Ratings and MarkingsMotor Control Circuit Overcurrent Protection and WiringMotor Disconnecting Means RequirementsMotor Overload Protection Devices and SettingsMotor Control Centers Installation and Overcurrent ProtectionStop-Start and Jogging Control Circuit ConfigurationsIndustrial Control Panel Requirements and MarkingsClass 1, Class 2, and Class 4 Power-Limited Remote-Control Circuits
Motors and Generators8 Q · 8%
MotorsGeneratorsMotor branch-circuit conductor sizing and ampacityMotor overload protection requirements and ratingsMotor branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective device ratingsMotor disconnecting means requirements and ratingsMotor controllers: ratings, types, and marking requirementsMotor control circuits and motor control centersGenerator installation, marking, overcurrent protection, and disconnecting meansPhase converters and capacitors in motor circuits
Special Occupancies, Equipment and Conditions12 Q · 12%
Special OccupanciesSwimming Pools and Similar InstallationsMobile Home and RV ParksData Processing EquipmentMiscellaneous Special EquipmentEmergency SystemsSignaling and Fire Alarm SystemsHazardous Location Classification (Classes, Divisions, and Zones)Wiring Methods and Equipment for Hazardous LocationsIntrinsically Safe Systems and Associated ApparatusHealth Care Facility Wiring, Grounding, and Essential Electrical SystemsSolar PV, Wind, Fuel Cell, and Energy Storage Systems+3 more
Key Distinctions
Mandatory NEC rulesvsPermissive NEC rules
Mandatory rules are characterized by the terms 'shall' or 'shall not' (90.5(A)), while permissive rules use 'shall be permitted' or 'shall not be required' (90.5(B)).
NEC 2023 Section 90.5(A) and 90.5(B)
Series circuit currentvsParallel circuit current
In a series circuit the total current equals the current in any other part of the circuit (IT = I1 = I2 = I3), whereas in a parallel circuit the total current equals the sum of the branch currents.
Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Series Circuits, Page 3 (2020 ed.: Series Circuits)
Elevator raceway fill (Article 620.33)vsGeneral wiring raceway fill (Chapter 9, Table 1)
For elevator installations the sum of the cross-sectional area of the individual conductors shall not exceed 50 percent of the raceway interior cross-sectional area, a special provision that differs from the standard Chapter 9, Table 1 fill percentages used in general wiring.
NEC 2023 Section 620.33
Direct-buried cables/conductors cover, locations not specifiedvsRigid metal conduit or intermediate metal conduit cover, locations not specified
Per Table 300.5(A), direct-buried cables or conductors in all locations not specified require a minimum cover of 600 mm (24 in.), while RMC or IMC in those same unspecified locations requires only 150 mm (6 in.).
NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
One- and two-family dwelling driveway/outdoor parking area (dwelling-related use only)vsGeneral streets, highways, roads, alleys, driveways and parking lots
Table 300.5(A) requires 450 mm (18 in.) minimum cover under a one- or two-family dwelling driveway for both direct-burial cable and rigid metal conduit, while under general streets, highways, roads, alleys, driveways and parking lots the requirement is 600 mm (24 in.) for all wiring methods; the 6 in. RMC figure applies only to 'all locations not specified.'
NEC 2023 Table 300.5(A)
Straight pulls in pull boxes (314.28(A)(1))vsAngle or U pulls in pull boxes (314.28(A)(2))
For conductors 4 AWG or larger, a straight pull box length shall not be less than eight times the trade size of the largest raceway, while for angle or U pulls the distance from each raceway entry to the opposite wall shall not be less than six times the trade size of the largest raceway, increased by the sum of the diameters of all other raceway entries in the same row on the same wall.
Each 14 AWG conductor requires 32.8 cm³ (2.00 in.³) while each 12 AWG conductor requires 36.9 cm³ (2.25 in.³) per Table 314.16(B)(1) (2026: Table 314.16(B)(4)).
NEC 2023 Table 314.16(B)(1)
Standard ampere ratings for fuses onlyvsStandard ampere ratings in Table 240.6(A)
Per 240.6(A), the ratings in Table 240.6(A) apply to both fuses and inverse time circuit breakers, but 1, 3, 6, and 601 amperes are additional standard ratings for fuses only.
NEC 2023 Section 240.6(A) and Table 240.6(A)
Motor branch-circuit conductors (430.22)vsMotor feeder conductors (430.24)
Branch-circuit conductors for a single motor must have an ampacity not less than 125% of that motor's table full-load current, while feeder conductors must have an ampacity not less than 125% of the largest motor's FLC plus the sum of the FLCs of the other motors.
Conductors require an ampacity of at least 125% of the rated-load current (a minimum), while the OCPD is permitted at not more than 175% of the RLA (a maximum), which may be increased to not more than 225% of the RLA only if the device cannot carry the motor's starting current.
NEC 2023 Section 440.32 and 440.22(A)
Ungrounded conductors in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire systemvsGrounded neutral conductor in a 120/240-volt, single-phase, three-wire system
Line one ungrounded conductor is black and line two is red, while the grounded neutral conductor is white or gray (NEC 200.6(A)).
Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 ed., Common Electrical Distribution Systems, Page 13 (2020 ed.: Common Electrical Distribution Systems)
Motor control circuit tapped from the load side of the motor branch-circuit protective devicevsMotor control circuit supplied from a separate source
A tapped control circuit is protected per 430.72, while a motor control circuit other than such a tapped circuit shall be protected against overcurrent in accordance with 724.43 or the notes to Table 11(A) and Table 11(B) in Chapter 9, as applicable.
NEC 2023 Section 430.72(A)
Key Terms
Authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) NEC 2023 Section 90.4(B)
Per 90.4, the authority having jurisdiction for enforcement of the Code is responsible for making interpretations of the rules, deciding on approval of equipment and materials, and granting special permission contemplated in a number of the rules.
Purpose of the NEC (90.1(A)) NEC 2023 Section 90.1(A)
The Code's purpose is the practical safeguarding of persons and property from hazards arising from the use of electricity; it is not intended as a design specification or an instruction manual for untrained persons.
Arrangement of the Code (90.3) NEC 2023 Section 90.3
The Code is divided into an introduction and nine chapters: Chapters 1-4 apply generally, Chapters 5-7 apply to special conditions, Chapter 8 covers communications, and Chapter 9 consists of tables.
Installations not covered by the NEC (90.2) NEC 2023 Section 90.2(D)
The Code does not cover installations in ships, watercraft other than floating buildings, railway rolling stock, aircraft, or automotive vehicles other than mobile homes and recreational vehicles.
Main bonding jumper / system bonding jumper that is a screw only (250.28(B)) NEC 2023 Section 250.28(B)
If the main bonding jumper or system bonding jumper is a screw only, the screw shall be identified with a green finish that is visible with the screw installed.
Free conductor length (300.14) NEC 2023 Section 300.14
At least 150 mm (6 in.) of free conductor, measured from the point in the box where it emerges from its raceway or cable sheath, shall be left at each outlet, junction, and switch point for splices or connection of luminaires or devices.
Bored holes in wood members (300.4(A)(1)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(1)
Holes shall be bored so the edge of the hole is not less than 32 mm (1 1/4 in.) from the edges of the wood member; where that distance cannot be maintained, the cable or raceway shall be protected from screw or nail penetration by a steel plate.
Steel plate protection at notches (300.4(A)(2)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(A)(2)
Cables or raceways laid in notches in wood members shall be protected from nail or screw penetration by a steel plate at least 1.6 mm (1/16 in.) thick of appropriate length and width covering the area of the wiring.
Cables/raceways parallel to framing members (300.4(D)) NEC 2023 Section 300.4(D)
Where run parallel to framing members and nails or screws are likely to penetrate, the nearest outside surface must be not less than 32 mm (1 1/4 in.) from the edge of the framing member, or steel plate/sleeve protection is required.
Stranded conductors in raceways (310.3(C)) NEC 2023 Section 310.3(C)
Where installed in raceways, conductors 8 AWG and larger shall be stranded, unless specifically permitted or required elsewhere in the Code to be solid.
Service disconnecting means rating, one-family dwelling (230.79(C)) NEC 2023 Section 230.79(C)
For a one-family dwelling, the service disconnecting means shall have a rating of not less than 100 amperes, 3-wire.
Minimum size of overhead service conductors (230.23(B)) NEC 2023 Section 230.23(B)
Overhead service conductors shall not be smaller than 8 AWG copper or 6 AWG aluminum or copper-clad aluminum.
Overhead service conductor clearance over public streets (230.24(B)) NEC 2023 Section 230.24(B)
Overhead service conductors not in excess of 1000 volts nominal shall have a minimum clearance of 5.5 m (18 ft) over public streets, alleys, roads, parking areas subject to truck traffic, driveways on other than residential property, and other land such as cultivated, grazing, forest, and orchard.
Vegetation as support (230.10) NEC 2023 Section 230.10
Vegetation such as trees shall not be used for support of overhead service conductors or service equipment — an absolute prohibition regardless of the strength of the vegetation.
PV array boundary for rapid shutdown (690.12(B)) NEC 2023 Section 690.12(B)
The array boundary is 305 mm (1 ft) from the array in all directions; controlled conductors outside that boundary and more than 1 m (3 ft) from the array, or inside a building, shall be limited to not more than 30 volts within 30 seconds of rapid shutdown initiation.
Device or yoke box-fill allowance (314.16(B)(4)) NEC 2023 Section 314.16(B)(4)
For each yoke or strap containing one or more devices or equipment, a double volume allowance per Table 314.16(B)(1) shall be made, based on the largest conductor connected to a device or equipment supported by that yoke or strap.
Formulas to Know
Ohm's Law basic forms (current, voltage, resistance)Amperes = Watts ÷ Volts (e.g., 1500 W ÷ 120 V = 12.5 A); Ohms = Volts ÷ Amperes (e.g., 240 V ÷ 8 A = 30 Ω); E = I × R (e.g., 10 A × 12 Ω = 120 V); resistance from power: R = E ÷ I or R = E² ÷ P (e.g., 1200 W at 120 V: I = 10 A, R = 12 Ω)
Power (watts) formulasP = E × I (volts × amperes); when voltage and resistance are known, P = E² ÷ R (e.g., 240² ÷ 20 Ω = 2,880 W)
Three-phase AC power and current (multiplier 1.73 = √3)KW = (E × I × PF × 1.73) ÷ 1000 (e.g., 460 V × 52 A × 0.80 × 1.73 ÷ 1000 ≈ 33 kW); I = (KW × 1000) ÷ (E × PF × 1.73)
Continuous load sizing (branch circuit, feeder, service-entrance)Feeder (215.2(A)(1)) and service-entrance (230.42(A)(1)) minimum conductor ampacity = noncontinuous load + 125% of continuous load (e.g., 80 A + 1.25 × 60 A = 155 A; 30 A + 1.25 × 100 A = 155 A); branch-circuit OCPD (210.20(A)) rating not less than 125% of the continuous load (e.g., 1.25 × 16 A = 20 A)
Ampacity adjustment for more than three current-carrying conductors (Table 310.15(C)(1))4-6 conductors = 80%; 7-9 conductors = 70%; 10-20 conductors = 50% of the values in the ampacity tables (Table 310.16 values are based on 30°C (86°F) ambient)
Pull and junction box sizing for conductors 4 AWG or largerStraight pull (314.28(A)(1)): length not less than 8 × trade size of largest raceway (e.g., 8 × 3 in. = 24 in. / 610 mm); angle or U pull (314.28(A)(2)): distance from raceway entry to opposite wall not less than 6 × trade size of largest raceway plus the sum of the diameters of the other raceway entries in the same row (e.g., 6 × 3 in. = 18 in. + 2 in. = 20 in.)
Motor circuit sizing from the FLC tablesBranch-circuit conductors (430.22): 125% × table FLC (e.g., 5 HP 230 V 1-phase = 28 A → 35 A; 50 HP 460 V 3-phase = 65 A → 81.25 A); feeder conductors (430.24): 125% × largest motor FLC + sum of other motor FLCs (e.g., 1.25 × 65 A + 40 A = 121.25 A); nontime delay fuse for AC polyphase motor (Table 430.52): 300% × FLC (e.g., 3.00 × 65 A = 195 A), and where that does not correspond to a standard size, the next standard size (200 A) is permitted per 430.52(C)(1) Exception No. 1
Hermetic refrigerant motor-compressor branch circuit (no marked branch-circuit selection current)Conductors (440.32): at least 125% × RLA (e.g., 30 A → 37.5 A; 20 A → 25 A); OCPD (440.22(A)): not more than 175% × RLA (e.g., 30 A → 52.5 A; 20 A → 35 A). NEC 2023/2026 (440.22(A) Exc. No. 1) permit the next higher standard rating (60 A for 52.5 A); NEC 2017/2020 have no such exception so the device may not exceed 52.5 A (a 50 A device). In every edition, if the device cannot carry starting current, the rating may be increased to not more than 225% × RLA (67.5 A → 60 A device).
Non-dwelling load calculations (lighting and receptacles)Receptacle outlets (220.14(I)): not less than 180 VA for each single or multiple receptacle on one yoke (a duplex = 180 VA); retail general lighting (Table 220.42(A)): 1.9 VA/ft² with the 125% continuous-load multiplier already included (e.g., 5,000 ft² × 1.9 = 9,500 VA); non-dwelling receptacle demand (Table 220.47): first 10 kVA at 100% + remainder at 50% (e.g., 18 kVA → 10,000 + 4,000 = 14,000 VA)
Parallel conductor setsAdd the sets for sizing: two sets of 350 kcmil = 700 kcmil, and Table 250.102(C)(1) (over 600 through 1,100 kcmil) gives a 2/0 AWG copper grounded conductor; for ampacity, add the sets' ampacities — Table 310.16 90°C column, 350 kcmil copper = 350 A × 2 = 700 A